WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-161255
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,500
James Moseley
d/b/a You Got It Movers
505 Wood Place #1301
Everett, WA 98203

The Washington Ultilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-560 Equipment Safety
Requirements and WAC 480-15-570 Driver Safety Requirements, which require household
goods movers to comply with Title 49 CFR Part 391 — Qualifications of Drivers and Part 396 —
Inspection, Repair and Maintenance.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each
violation of Title 49 CFR Parts 391 and 396. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's
continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

In October 2016, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Alan Dickson conducted a compliance
review of James Mosely d/b/a You Got It Movers (You Got It Movers) and documented the
following violations of acute and critical regulations:

e 14 violations of CFR 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined and
certified. Driver James Moseley operated a commercial vehicle on 14 occasions during
September 2016 without having been medically examined and certified.

e One violation (14 occurrences) of CFR 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor
vehicle not periodically inspected. The company does not conduct periodic inspections
on its vehicle. Driver James Mosely operated this non-inspected vehicle on 14 occasions
during September 2016.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
each of these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that use a driver not medically
examined and certified, or use a vehicle not periodically inspected put the traveling
public at risk. An undetected medical condition or vehicle defect present serious safety
concerns.

2. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:

e  Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s previous technical assistance;
and
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e Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

In his June 2015 application for household goods moving authority, James Moseley,
owner of You Got It Movers, acknowledged his responsibility to understand and comply
with applicable motor carrier safety rules. Mr. Moseley also attended household goods
movers training provided by the Commission on March 17, 2016. The company knew, or
should have known about these requirements.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self-report
these violations.

4. Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Mr. Mosely failed to prepare
all of the documents requested to be made available.

5. Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
Mr. Moseley stated he would correct the violations as soon as possible and will submit
proof of compliance.

6. The number of violations. For a company this size, the number of critical violations
noted is significant.

7. The number of customers affected. The company traveled 5,400 miles and reported
$38,839 in gross revenue for 2015. A relatively small number of customers were likely
affected by these safety violations, although the violations put an unknown number of
members of the travelling public at risk.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if the company is likely
to repeat these violations, however the company has stated that it intends to correct the
violations and submit proof of compliance.

9. The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is the company’s first compliance review. The company has no history of previous
violations or penalties.

10. The company’s existing compliance program. You Got It Movers has no formal
compliance program.

11. The size of the company. You Got It Movers is a small, one-vehicle operation. In 2015
the company traveled 5,400 miles and reported $38,839 in gross revenue.

These are first-time violations, but the Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some
Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue
mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.! The Commission generally
will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for other first-time
violations of critical regulations that do not meet the criteria for mandatory penalties. The

' Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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Commission will assess penalties for any repeat violations of critical regulations found in future
compliance investigations, including for each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize You Got It
Movers $1,500 for violations of WAC 480-15-560 Equipment Safety Requirements and WAC
480-15-570 Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts CFR Parts 391 and 396, calculated as
follows:

e 14 violations of CFR 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined and certified.
The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each of these critical violations, for a
total of $1,400.,

e One violation of CFR 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically
inspected. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for one critical violation of this

type.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement
of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of
the contest.

If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:
e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.
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Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective Decembey 15, 20

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-161255

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and [ have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under

oath, the following statements.

[ 11. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $
in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below:

[ 1 a) Iask for ahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) TIask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1 a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) Task for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



