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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES
PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG-161062
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200
Freedom 2000 LLC, dba Cando Recycling and Disposal
2005 Johnson Road
PO Box 865
Point Roberts, WA 98281
[bookmark: OLE_LINK1][bookmark: OLE_LINK2]The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have committed violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-70-201 Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which requires solid waste haulers to comply with Title 49 CFR Part 391 – Qualifications of Drivers, and Part 396 – Inspection, Repair and Maintenance. 
Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 8l.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each violation of Title 49 CFR Parts 391 and 396. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation. 
In August 2016, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Wayne Gilbert conducted a compliance review of Cando Recycling and Disposal and documented the following violations of critical regulations:
· Two violations of CFR Part 391.51(b)(2) – Failing to maintain inquiries into driver’s driving record in driver’s qualification file. Cando Recycling and Disposal failed to maintain the required driving record abstract in the qualification files of drivers John Shields and Marinus Parsons. 
· Three violations of CFR Part 396.17(a) – Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. Cando Recycling and Disposal allowed its employees to operate three commercial motor vehicles that had not been periodically inspected.
The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that employ drivers with unknown driving histories, or that use vehicles that are not periodically inspected put the traveling public at risk. A driver with unknown previous violations or driver license suspensions, or a vehicle with an undocumented mechanical defect present serious safety concerns.
1. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include: 
0. Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical assistance; and 
0. Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the company knew of and failed to correct the violation. 
[bookmark: _GoBack]In its August 2008 application for solid waste authority, David Gellatly, owner of Cando Recycling and Disposal, acknowledged his responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety rules. Staff also provided technical assistance to the company in March 2010. The company knew, or should have known, about these requirements.
1. Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self-report these violations.
1. Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Cando Recycling and Disposal was very cooperative and responsive. 
1. Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. The company took immediate steps to correct these violations. 
1. The number of violations. For a company this size, the number of critical violations noted is unremarkable. 
1. The number of customers affected. Cando Recycling and Disposal traveled 14,400 miles and reported $448,171 in gross revenue for 2015. The company serves an area of approximately five square miles with 1300 residents.
1. The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if the company is likely to repeat these violations, however the company has provided evidence of immediate steps taken to correct the violations and prevent future occurrences.
1. The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. This is the company’s first compliance review. The company has no history of previous violations or penalties. 
1. The company’s existing compliance program. Cando Recycling and Disposal has no formal compliance program. 
1. The size of the company. Cando Recycling and Disposal operates four commercial vehicles with two drivers. 
These are first-time violations, but the Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.[footnoteRef:1] The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for other first-time violations of critical regulations that do not meet the criteria for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any repeat violations of critical regulations found in future compliance investigations, including for each occurrence of a repeat violation. [1:  Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.] 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Cando Recycling and Disposal $200 for violations of WAC 480-70-201 Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts CFR Parts 391 and 396, calculated as follows: 
· Two violations of CFR Part 391.51(b)(2) – Failing to maintain inquiries into driver’s driving record in driver’s qualification file. These are first-time violations, and thus the Commission assesses a penalty at the statutory amount of $100 for one violation of this regulation type. 
· Three violations of CFR Part 396.17(a) – Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. These are first time violations, and thus the Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for one violation of this regulation type.
This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.
Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the contest.
If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.
If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.
You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:
· Pay the amount due.
· Contest the occurrence of the violations.
· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.
If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. 
DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective September 28, 2016.
GREGORY J. KOPTA
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Administrative Law Judge
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-161062

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.
I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.
[   ]  1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $_____________ in payment of the penalty.
[   ]  2.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below:
 [   ]  a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
     OR	[   ]  b)	I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
[   ]  3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:     
 [   ]  a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
     OR	[   ]  b)	I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]
 _____________________________________		___________________________
Name of Respondent (company) – please print		Signature of Applicant


RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”  
