WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-160907 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000

Nate Kysar Nate's Plumbing, Inc. P.O. Box 1405 Brush Prairie, WA 98606

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(1)(a) by failing to have a valid locate prior to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than ten thousand dollars for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation in which it reviewed damage reports submitted by Northwest Natural Gas Company (Northwest Natural) and identified a natural gas damage event involving Nate's Plumbing, Inc. (Nate's Plumbing), where buried utilities were not located prior to excavation. Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you in the amount of \$1,000 on the following grounds:

On Oct. 8, 2015, Nate's Plumbing damaged a natural gas line owned by Northwest Natural. The damage occurred while Nate's Plumbing was directional drilling to install a water line at 3408 SE 165th Ave., Vancouver, WA. Nate's plumbing originally requested locates for the location on July 7, 2015, but the locate marks were not valid at the time Nate's Plumbing began excavating on Oct. 8, 2016.

RCW 19.122.030(6)(c) states, in part, that markings of underground utilities expire 45 calendar days from the date that the excavator provided notice to a onenumber locator service. After 45 days, an excavator must once again notify a onenumber locator pursuant to subsection (1). The date Nate's Plumbing hit Northwest Natural's gas line, Oct. 10, 2015, was 93 days after they originally called in their locate request. Nate's Plumbing failed to request new locates prior to excavating and therefore is in violation of RCW 19.122.030(1)(a).

On Nov. 23, 2015, Northwest Natural submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying Nate's Plumbing as the party responsible for damaging the utility's natural gas service line at 3408 SE 165th Ave., Vancouver, Washington on Oct. 8, 2015, without first notifying a one-number locator service prior to excavation.

Nate's Plumbing previously damaged a Northwest Natural gas line on July 10, 2013, but because the incident occurred more than two years ago, staff did not include the incident as part of this investigation. Staff sent Nate's Plumbing a

letter on Oct. 9, 2013, which provided information on Washington's dig law and applicable penalties for failing to request a utility locate prior to excavating

Based on the results of Staff's investigation, the Commission finds that Nate's Plumbing violated RCW 19.122.030(1)(a), by failing to have a valid locate prior to performing an excavation, and assesses a \$1,000 penalty for this violation.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty assessment through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact concerning the violation require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the contest.

If you admit the violation but believe there is a reason for the violation that should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due;
- Contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within **FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 12, 2016.

GREGORY J. KOPTA Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-160907

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

- [] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.
- [] 2. **Contest the violation.** I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below:
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
- [] 3. **Request mitigation.** I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

| Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at | [City, State] |
|-----------------------------|---------------|
|-----------------------------|---------------|

Name of Respondent (company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."