WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-160829
PENALTY AMOUNT: $36,900

International District Parking Association

DBA Merchants Parking Association, Merchants Parking/Transia
214 5™ Avenue South

Seattle, WA 98104

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221 Vehicle and
Driver Safety Requirements, which requires charter and excursion carriers to comply with Title
49 Code of Federal Regulations (CEFR) Part 382 — Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and
Testing, Part 383 — Commercial Driver’s License Standards, Part 391 — Qualifications of
Drivers, Part 395 — Hours of Service of Drivers and Part 396 — Inspection, Repair, and
Maintenance.

RCW 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each violation. In the case of an
ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On April 26, 2016, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandi Yeomans conducted a
compliance review of International District Parking Association d/b/a Merchants Parking
Association, Merchants Parking/Transia (Transia) and identified the following violations of
acute and critical regulations:

Acute

e Two hundred thirty-four violations of CFR Part 383.37(a) — Allowing, requiring,
permitting, or authorizing a driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle
during any period in which the driver does not have a current commercial
learner’s permit (CLP) or commercial driver’s license (CDL) or does not have a
CLP or CDL with the proper class or endorsements. An employer may not use a
driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle who violates any restriction on the
driver’s CLP or CDL. Transia allowed employees Mohammad Mohajeripour,
Richard Phelps, and Xuseen Saleebaan to operate a commercial motor vehicle with
passengers on 234 occasions between November 2015 and April 2016. None of the
drivers had a passenger endorsement to operate a commercial motor vehicle with
passengers.

Critical

e One violation of CFR Part 382.301(a) — Using a driver before the motor carrier
has received a negative pre-employment controlled substance test result. Transia
allowed employee Jonathan Duarte to operate a commercial motor vehicle on
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November 2, 2015, however Transia had not received a negative pre-employment
controlled substance test result until November 10, 2015.

e One hundred fifteen violations of CFR Part 391.45(a) — Using a driver not
medically examined and certified. Transia allowed employees Jonathan Duarte,
Charles Harris, Daniel Miller, and Najeh Mohammed to drive on a total of 115
occasions between January 2015 and April 2016. None of the drivers had been
medically examined and certified prior to driving.

e One violation of CFR Part 391.51(b)(2) — Failing to maintain inquiries into
driver’s driving record in driver’s qualification file within 30 days of hire.
Transia failed to check the driving record of employees Peter Castro, Shimanugus
Gaim, Charles Harris, Kyu Jung, Tauati Peni, Mohammad Mohajeripour, and Najeh
Mohammed within 30 days of hire.

e [Five violations of CFR Part 395.8(a) — Failing to require driver to make a record
of duty status. Transia allowed employees Peter Castro, Jonathan Duarte, Najeh
Mohammed, and Kyu Jung to drive without making a record of duty status when not
under short haul exemption on 5 occasions between November 2015 and February
2016.

e One violation of CFR Part 396.11(a) — Failing to require driver to prepare driver
vehicle inspection report. Transia failed to require its drivers to prepare a driver
vehicle inspection report on 210 occasions.

o Light violations of CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not
periodically inspected. Transia failed to maintain records of a periodic vehicle
inspection. None of the 8 vehicles inspected had any periodic inspections in the file or
on the vehicles at the time of inspection.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

L.

How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are very
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that allow a driver to operate a
commercial motor vehicle prior to receiving a negative pre-employment controlled
substance test result, disregard requirements for medical examination and certification,
allow employees to operate a commercial motor vehicle without the proper
endorsements, fail to document drivers’ hours of service, or that use a commercial motor
vehicle not periodically inspected put the traveling public at risk. An unknown pre-
employment controlled substance test result, an undocumented medical condition, a non-
endorsed driver, a potentially fatigued driver, or a potentially defective vehicle presents
very serious safety concerns.

Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:
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e  Whether the company ignored staff’s previous technical assistance; and
e Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On February 9 and 10, 2010, Commission staff conducted a compliance review of
Transia from which the company received a satisfactory safety rating. During the
compliance review Transia was found in non-compliance of CFR Parts 391, 393, and
396. Transia was provided technical assistance and was penalized by the Commission in
the amount of $100 for violation of CFR Part 391,

On May 11, 12, and 13, 2010, Commission staff conducted a compliance review of
Transia from which the company received a satisfactory safety rating. During the
compliance review staff provided additional technical assistance and noted violations of
CFR Part 396.

On October 14, 2011, Transia submitted an application for charter and excursion
authority. In its application for charter and excursion authority, Transia acknowledged its
responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety regulations.
Commission staff provided technical assistance to Transia as a new entrant for charter
and excursion authority on February 14, 2012,

On August 21, 2012, Washington State Patrol conducted a compliance review of Transia
from which the company received a conditional safety rating. In the compliance review
Transia was found in non-compliance of CFR Parts 380, 382, 383, 391, 395 and 396.
Transia was provided technical assistance and was penalized by Washington State Patrol
for violation of CFR Part 382.

The company knew, or should have known, about these requirements.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self-report
these violations.

4, Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Transia was very cooperative
throughout the entire scope of the investigation and expressed a desire of coming into
compliance.

5. Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
Transia was very helpful throughout the investigation, however the company did not
make any attempt to correct any of the violations.

6. The number of violations. The number of critical violations noted is significant.

7. The number of customers affected. The company traveled 541,969 miles and reported
$2,100,000 in gross revenue in 2015, operating thirty-six vehicles. Due to the number of
violations noted, these safety violations potentially affected a significant number of
customers.
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8. The likelihood of recurrence. The company was very cooperative and expressed a
desire of coming into compliance, however there were multiple repeat violations
including repeats of 3 critical regulations. Therefore, the likelihood of recurrence is high.

9. The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
The company has had three previous compliance reviews since 2010. There have been
similar violations noted and one previous penalty assessment since 2010.

10. The company’s existing compliance program. Transia has no formal compliance
program.

11. The size of the company. Transia operates thirty-six commercial vehicles with thirty-
eight drivers and reported $2,100,000 in gross revenue and 541,969 miles traveled in
2015.

Some of the critical violations noted in the compliance review are first-time violations, but the
Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that certain Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue penalties for a first-time violation,
regardless of whether staff has previously provided technical assistance on specific issues.!
Within these first-time violations are regulations so critical to public safety that the applicable
statute (RCW 81.04.405) and the Enforcement Policy penalize each occurrence. Other first-time
violations are penalized once for each violation type.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that Transia should be
penalized $36,900 for violations of WAC 480-30-221 Driver Safety Requirements, which
adopts CFR Parts 382, 383, 391, 395 and 396, calculated as follows:

e One violation of CFR Part 382.301(a) — Using a driver before the motor carrier has
received a negative pre-employment controlled substance test result. This is a repeat
violation at the penalty amount of $500 per occurrence (RCW 81.04.531), for a total
of $500.

e Two hundred thirty-four violations of CFR Part 383.37(a) — Allowing, requiring,
permitting, or authorizing a driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle during any
period in which the driver does not have a current commercial learner’s permit (CLP)
or commercial driver’s license (CDL) or does not have a CLP or CDL with the proper
class or endorsements. This is a first time violation at the penalty amount of $100 per
occurrence, for a total of $23,400.

! Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Ultilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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e One hundred fifteen violations of CFR Part 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically
examined and certified. This is a first time violation at the penalty amount of $100 per
occurrence, for a total of $11,500.

e One violation of CFR Part 391.51(b)(2) — Failing to maintain inquiries into driver’s
driving record in driver’s qualification file within 30 days of hire. This is a first time
violation at the penalty amount of $100 per violation type, for a total of $100.

e Five violations of CFR Part 395.8(a) — Failing to require driver to make a record of
duty status. This is a repeat violation at the penalty amount of $100 per occurrence,
for a total of $500.

e One violation of CFR Part 396.11(a) — Failing to require driver to prepare driver
vehicle inspection report. This is a first time violation at the penalty amount of $100
per violation type, for a total of $100.

e [Eight violations of CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not
periodically inspected. This is a repeat violation at the penalty amount of $100 per
occurrence, for a total of $800.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement
of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of
the contest.

If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 6, 2016.

P

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-160829

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

[ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. [ am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violation occurred and enclose $
in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons |
describe below:

[ ] a) [ask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. | admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a) [ask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) [lask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




