WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-143221
PENALTY AMOUNT: $5,900

PMC MOVING, LLC
14928 19™ AVENUE WEST
LYNNWOOD, WA 98087

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-
560 — Equipment safety requirements, which requires household goods carriers to comply
with parts of Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Part 396 - Inspection, repair and
maintenance, and WAC 480-15-570 — Driver safety requirements, which requires household
goods carriers to comply with CFR Part 391 — Qualification of drivers.

On July 29, 2014, Motor Carrier Safety Inspector Alan Dickson conducted a compliance
review inspection of PMC Moving, LLC (PMC Moving or Company). Mr. Dickson found
168 total violations, all of which were first-time violations for which the Commission
generally provides technical assistance rather than assess penalties.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy, however, provides that some Commission
requirements are so critical to safe operations that the Commission may issue penalties for a
first-time violation, even if staff has not previously provided technical assistance on specific
issues.! Of the 168 violations Mr. Dickson found, 61 were violations of critical regulations
as follows:

® Three violations of CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not
periodically inspected. None of PMC Moving’s three vehicles received a periodic
inspection in the past 12 months.

e 58 violations of CFR Part 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined
and certified. None of the company’s three drivers had current medical

! Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Wash ington Ultilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V. '
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certification. In June 2014, driver Nickolas Urbach drove on 17 days, driver
Julian Lave drove on 20 days, and driver Tyler Prall drove on 21 days, for a total
of 58 days.

Although authorized to assess $6,100 in penalties for these critical violations, the
Commission finds that a slightly lesser penalty would be more appropriate based on
consideration of the following factors:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Drivers who are not medically certified
put the traveling public at risk. If there is an undocumented medical condition, this
could present serious safety concerns. In addition, vehicles that are not periodically
inspected could potentially harm the public in the event of a malfunction or
mechanical problem during transit.

2. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:

e  Whether the Company ignored staff’s previous technical assistance; and
e  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that
show the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

In January 2011, John Lutz and John Donohue, PMC Moving’s owners, attended the
Commission’s household goods industry training. The training covered equipment
and driver safety requirements and both Mr. Lutz and Mr. Donohue verified receiving
this training. Commission staff does not believe that the Company ignored previous
technical assistance. Rather, Staff believes the violations are based on lack of
oversight by the Company owners and do not appear to be intentional.

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violation. PMC Moving did not self-
report these violations.

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. PMC Moving cooperated
with Commission staff during the compliance review. However, Staff asked the
Company to provide a compliance plan for addressing each violation to ensure future
compliance within 15 days. As of September 10, 2014, the Company had not
provided such a plan.

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the
impacts. PMC Moving assured staff that it would correct the violations noted in the
July 2014 compliance review; however, the Company has not provided a compliance
plan within 15 days as directed by staff.
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6. The number of violations. Staff is concerned with the high number of critical
violations noted in the compliance review. While the Company received a satisfactory
safety rating, staff will re-inspect the drivers and the vehicles in six months to ensure
the Company has corrected the violations.

7. The number of customers affected. Customers were not affected by these
violations.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Commission staff will conduct a follow-up inspection
in six months. Staff expects the Company to improve its safety management controls
and avoid recurrence of these critical violations.

9. The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and
penalties. This is PMC Moving’s first compliance review, and the Company has no
previous history of violations or penalties.

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Because the Company has not
submitted a compliance plan as directed, Commission staff is unaware of the
existence or contents of any existing compliance program.

11. The size of the Company. PMC Moving reported approximately $356,000 in gross
intrastate operating revenue for 2013.

The Commission has weighed these factors and determined that PMC Moving should be
penalized $5,900 as follows:

o $100 for one violation of WAC 480-15-560 — Using a commercial motor
vehicle not periodically inspected. While none of PMC Moving’s three
vehicles received a periodic inspection in the past 12 months, these are first-
time violations, so we assess a penalty of $100 for one violation of this type.
Future violations of this regulation will result in penalties assessed for each
violation.

o $5,800 for 58 violations of WAC 480-15-570 — Using a driver not medically
examined and certified. The Company’s three drivers drove a total of 58
days without medical certification. These are first-time violations, but the
Commission grants no leeway with this type of violation. Drivers who are not
medically certified put the traveling public at risk.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment.
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Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request
only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a
hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting
that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is
a reason for the violations that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask
for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. A request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting
that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request,
the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or
application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law
judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or
her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
® Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

o

.79

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective Septem% 18, 2014.
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-143221

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose
$ in payment of the penalty.

[ 12. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the
reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1 a) Task fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above
to an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ | b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.”



