WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UW-140598 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$11,600

WASHINGTON WATER SUPPLY, INC. PO BOX 2958 SILVERDALE, WA 98383

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Washington Water Supply, Inc. (Washington Water Supply or Company) has violated Washington Administrative code (WAC) 480-110, which governs the regulation of water companies. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of \$100 for every such violation. Under this statute, each and every violation is considered a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, each day the violation continues is considered a separate and distinct violation.

As a part of an investigation into the nature of Washington Water Supply's business activities, Commission staff found that the Company acquired and has been operating two water systems, Silent Sky and Bainbridge 1, that were not listed in the Company's tariff. These water systems are subject to regulation under RCW 80.28 and WAC 480-110. Commission staff provided a deadline of September 6, 2013, for Washington Water Supply to make the necessary tariff revisions, and the Company failed to do so. As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against Washington Water Supply in the amount of \$11,600 for failing to file either an application for a transfer of property, or revisions to its tariff as required by WAC 480-110-433 for at least 116 days after the Company began operating the two additional water systems. This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If there is a reason for the violations that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 80.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
- Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within **FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 15, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-140598

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$11,600 in payment of the penalty.		
[] 2.	Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:		
[] 3.		tion for mitigation. I admit the violaticed for the reasons set out below:	on, but I believe that the penalty should
OR	[] a) [] b)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence an administrative law judge for a deci I ask for a Commission decision base above.	sion
	-	enalty of perjury under the laws of the Station I have presented on any attachmen	State of Washington that the foregoing, ats, is true and correct.
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
	_	lent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."