WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TC-130090
PENALTY AMOUNT: $800

NORTHWESTERN STAGE LINES, INC.
DBA NORTHWESTERN TRAILWAYS
4611 BEN FRANKLIN LANE
SPOKANE, WA 99224

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-
216(5), Operation of Motor Vehicles, General, which relates to standing passengers. As a
result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $800, as follows: ‘

On January 17, 2013, Motor Carrier inspector John Foster visited Northwestern Trailways to
investigate a safety complaint. A passenger traveling with Northwestern Trailways on
January 6, 2013, complained of the bus being loaded beyond capacity with passengers
standing in the aisles. Upon investigation and according to company records, the 56-
passenger Northwestern Trailways bus traveled from Leavenworth to Monroe with 64 people
on board. Eight passengers stood in the bus aisle for at least 85 miles.

Mr. Foster documented the following violations:

e Eight violations of WAC 480-30-216(5), Operation of Motor Vehicles, General —
Standing passengers, which states that even if a vehicle is properly equipped, no
passenger will be permitted to stand for a distance exceeding thirty-five miles.
Northwestern Trailways permitted eight passengers to stand for a distance of at least
85 miles.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment,

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
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request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following;:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective January 24, 2013.

P’

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose
$ in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an
affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a decision by
an administrative law judge: .

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

[ ] a) Task for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on
the information presented above.
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.” |



