WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-121918 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000

Comcast Phone of Washington, LLC d/b/a Comcast Digital Phone One Comcast Center, 50th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19103

According to the Commission's records, you have committed a violation of a Commission rule: Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-07-640 requires interconnection agreements be submitted with the Commission for approval within 30 days after they are signed.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of \$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct offense. In the case of a continuing violation, every additional day's continuance shall be deemed to be a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets Comcast's failure to file the interconnection agreement (agreement) within 30 days as a violation of WAC 480-07-640, giving rise to a penalty for filing to make the requisite filing.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies Comcast that it has assessed penalties against it based on the following:

On November 15, 2012, Comcast and CenturyTel of Washington, Inc., CenturyTel of Inter Island, Inc., and CenturyTel of Cowiche, Inc., collectively d/b/a CenturyLink, filed with the Commission a request for approval of an interconnection agreement, Docket UT-123025. The last signature appearing on the agreement is dated October 24, 2011. The agreement should have been filed with the Commission no later than November 23, 2011. The agreement was received by the Commission on November 15, 2012; therefore, the agreement was filed 358 days late.

RCW 80.04.405 allows the Commission to assess a penalty of \$35,800 against both Comcast and CenturyLink. However, staff has decided to pre-mitigate Comcast's penalty down to only \$1,000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See RCW 80.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or further mitigation at a hearing, but you are not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due;
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within **FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 27, 2012.

GREGORY J. KOPTA Administrative Law Judge

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-121918

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have: [] Enclosed \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.		
	[] Submitted my payment of \$1,000 online at www.utc.wa.gov . My confirmation number is		
[] 2.	2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law decision by an administrative law judge:		
[] 3.		ation for mitigation. I admit the violated for the reason(s) set out below.	tions, but I believe that the penalty should
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing for a decision by a information presented above.	an administrative law judge based on the
OR	[] b)	*	inistrative decision on the information I
	_	enalty of perjury under the laws of the ation I have presented on any attachme	State of Washington that the foregoing, ents, is true and correct.
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
Name o	f Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."