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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND 

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION, 

 

 Complainant, 

 

v. 

 

3
RD

 GENERATION MOVERS AND 

HAULING, A+ ALWAYS MOVING, INC.,  

A A STAR TRANSFER CO. INC., 

ALWAYS ABLE MOVING SERVICE, LLC, 

ARAYS MOVING SERVICE LLC, 

GRAYPORT TRANSFER & STORAGE 

CO., INC., THUNDER MOVERS LLC 

 

 Respondents. 

_____________________________________ 

 

 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

 

 

DOCKET TV-121722 

 

 

DECLARATION OF 

MATHEW PERKINSON 

 

Mathew Perkinson, under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington, 

declares as follows: 

 

1. I am employed by the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) as a Compliance Investigator in the Consumer Protection and 

Communications Section. As a Compliance Investigator, my responsibilities 

include conducting investigations regarding the business practices of regulated 

utility or transportation companies. As part of those duties, I investigate 

household goods carriers that may be operating in violation of one or more 

statutes or rules enforced by the Commission. 

2. Regulated household goods carriers must submit annual reports and file 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Each year, the Commission distributes an 

annual report form and a regulatory fee form to facilitate these submissions. 

3. On February 29, 2012, the Commission mailed an annual report and regulatory 

fee packet to each permitted household goods carrier at its address on file with 

the Commission.  The packet contained an “annual report form” and a letter from 

the Commission’s Executive Director and Secretary, David Danner.  The annual 

report form includes a regulatory fee calculation schedule and requires a 

company to attach other documents as well.  A completed annual report form, 

with the necessary attachments, constitutes a company’s annual report. 
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4. The letter from David Danner explained the annual report and regulatory fee 

submission requirements. In the letter, Mr. Danner instructed the regulated 

company to return the completed form and pay any regulatory fees by May 1, 

2012. The letter further stated that, if the company failed to file a completed 

annual report and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2012, the Commission would 

assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after May 1 that the 

report was not filed and $100 for each business day after May 1 the regulatory 

fees remained unpaid. Those companies wishing to request an extension to file 

the annual report were instructed in the letter to do so before April 24, 2012, and 

to provide a reason for the extension. In addition, the letter advised that 

Commission Staff would seek revocation of the authority of companies that 

failed to file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by June 1, 2012. A copy of 

the letter is attached as Attachment A. 

5. On May 15, 2012, the Commission sent letters to those companies that had not 

yet filed their reports. The letter, signed by David Danner, informed the 

companies that, to date, they had each incurred a penalty of $900. In the letter, 

Mr. Danner stated that companies who filed their annual reports no later than 

May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day. Conversely, the 

Commission would assess an additional $25 per day for each instance in the 

previous five years that the company had received a penalty for filing a late 

report. A copy of the letter is attached as Attachment B. 

6. In preparation for the annual revocation proceeding, I procured a list generated 

from the Commission’s Annual Report Tracking System (ARTS) of permitted 

household goods carriers that still had not filed an annual report or paid 

regulatory fees. As of October 25, 2012, the Commission had received neither 

the 2011 annual report nor the 2012 regulatory fees from the seven household 

goods carriers in the attached draft complaint. 

DATED this 19
th

 day of December, 2012, at Olympia, Washington. 

 

 

______________________________________ 

MATHEW PERKINSON
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Attachment A 

 

February 29, 2012 

 

 

Dear Regulated Company: 

 

Reference:  Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1 

 

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities 

and Transportation Commission (UTC).  

 

What is required of you? 

By May 1, you must: 

 Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual 

report form 

 Pay your 2012 regulatory fees 

 

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on 

time? 

If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by 

May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after May 1 

that the report is not filed and $100 for each business day after May 1 the fees are unpaid.  

You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, after you 

have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees.  The amount of the 

penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether 

you have filed late in prior years. If you have not filed your completed annual report or paid 

your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staff will initiate proceedings to have the UTC revoke 

your authority to operate in Washington.  

 

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 1? 

If you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent 

penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance. 

These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day after 

May 1 that the fees are unpaid. 

 

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay 

your regulatory fees on time? 

You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the 

UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees.  Any extension request must be 

filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an 

extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report.  The 

UTC will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request 

is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if you fail to pay your 

regulatory fees by May 1.  
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What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington? 

You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on 

our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during 

the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based 

on the months of operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registration or permit. 

 

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?  

Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions: 

 

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under 

Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water 

company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request 

confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is found 

only in RCW 80.04.095. If a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as 

confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential. 

 

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160.  You 

may find this rule at the UTC website, www.utc.wa.gov/annual reports. 

 

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document 

and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however, 

disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet. 

 

May you perform some of these tasks online? 

Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC 

website www.utc.wa.gov/annualreports: 

 

 Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms 

 Pay regulatory fees 

 File your report electronically  

 Cancel your registration (telecommunications companies) or permit (transportation 

companies) if your company ceased operations in 2011.  

 

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?  

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

PO Box 47250 

Olympia, WA 98504-7250 

 

Is there any additional information you should file? 

 If you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of 

your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.  

 If you are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your 

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1. 

 If you are a class 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board 

Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington. 

 

http://www.utc.wa.gov/annual
http://www.utc.wa.gov/annual
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If you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae 

Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or rcarnes@utc.wa.gov.  

 

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call 360-664-1243. The 

TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

David W. Danner 

Executive Director and Secretary 

 

Enclosures 

 

 

mailto:rcarnes@utc.wa.gov
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Attachment B 

 

 

May 15, 2012 

 

 

NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION 

 

 
Attention: 

 

Your 2011 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) was due 

on May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began accruing on May 2.  

As of the date of this letter, you have accrued a penalty of $900. That penalty will increase by 

$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply. 

 

This letter tells you what you can do to mitigate your penalty. 

 

If the commission receives your report postmarked no later than May 25, commission staff 

will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for 

each year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.  

 

Annual report forms are available on the commission’s website at www.utc.wa.gov. If you have 

questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance 

Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or mperkinson@utc.wa.gov. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

David W. Danner 

Executive Director and Secretary 

http://www.utc.wa.gov/
mailto:mperkinson@utc.wa.gov
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Attachment C 

 

 

 

Docket Company 

120900 3rd Generation Movers and Hauling 

120902 A+ Always Moving Inc 

120901 A A Star Transfer Co Inc 

120904 Always Able Moving Service, LLC 

120912 Arays Moving Service LLC 

120923 Grayport Transfer  Storage Co  Inc 

120948 Thunder Movers LLC 


