[Service Date December 14, 2011]
BEFORE THE WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND ; DOCKET U-111465
TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION, )
Complainant, g COMPLAINT
)
V. )
)
PUGET SOUND ENERGY, INC., )
Respondent. ;
)
.................................... )

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission), on its own
motion, and through its Staff," alleges as follows:

l. BACKGROUND

Gas and electric companies subject to Commission jurisdiction must comply with
Commission regulations and state laws. In May 2011, a Puget Sound Energy, Inc.
(PSE or Company) customer filed an informal complaint® against PSE with the
Commission. Upon investigation of that complaint, Commission Staff (Staff) found
that PSE made a field visit to the customer’s home in April 2011 for the purpose of
leaving a 24-hour disconnect notice or collecting payment from the customer and that
the customer was billed $13 for the visit. In Staff’s view, such conduct violates WAC
480-100-128(6)(K) because PSE charged a disconnect visit charge even though the

' RCW 80.01.060 authorizes Commission administrative law judges to “make findings of
probable cause and issue complaints in the name of the commission . . ..” The administrative law
judge’s signature on this complaint indicates only the judge’s finding of probable cause to issue
this Complaint and does not represent any Commission finding or determination on the merits of
the allegations in the Complaint.
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Company’s representative was not dispatched to actually disconnect service. By rule
and in accordance with its tariff, PSE may charge this fee only if the purpose of the
visit is to disconnect service. The Company may not charge this fee for any other
purpose, such as to collect payment or leave a 24-hour notice. As a result of this
customer complaint, Staff initiated a compliance investigation of PSE to determine
the frequency of disconnect visit charges for non-disconnect visits.

During the investigation, Staff reviewed Company and Commission documents
pertaining to PSE, including the Company’s tariff, billing records, and documents
provided by PSE for the months of March, April, and May 2011. This Complaint
arises from the findings of that compliance investigation.

1. PARTIES

The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, authorized by Title 80
RCW to regulate in the public interest the rates, services, facilities, and practices of
all persons engaging within this state in the business of supplying any utility service
or commodity to the public for compensation, and related activities, including gas and
electric companies.

Respondent PSE is a gas and electric company subject to regulation by the
Commission under Title 80 RCW.

I11.  JURISDICTION

The Commission has jurisdiction over the subject matter of this complaint pursuant to
the provisions of RCW 80.01, RCW 80.04, RCW 80.28, WAC 480-90 and WAC
480-100. Specific provisions include but are not limited to: RCW 80.01.040, RCW
80.04.070, RCW 80.04.110, RCW 80.04.230, RCW 80.04.380, RCW 80.28.010,
RCW 80.28.040, WAC 480-90-128, and WAC 480-100-128.

IV. COMMISSION AUTHORITY
Under RCW 80.04.380, the Commission may penalize a public service company that

violates any rule or requirement of the Commission up to $1,000 for each and every
offense. Under the statute, every violation is considered a separate and distinct
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offense, and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continued violation is
deemed to be a separate and distinct offense.

Under RCW 80.04.230, if the Commission finds that the public service company has
charged an amount for any service rendered in excess of the lawful rate in force at the
time such charge was made, the Commission may order that a public service company
refund the amount of overcharges.

V. CLAIMS

Violation of WAC 480-90-128(6)(k) and WAC 480-100-128(6)(k) —
disconnection of service

The Commission, through its Staff, realleges the allegations contained in paragraphs 2
through 8 above.

Pursuant to WAC 480-90-128(6)(k), if a gas utility representative is dispatched to
disconnect service, “[t]he utility may charge a fee for the disconnection visit to the
service address if provided for in the utility’s tariff.” (Emphasis added.)

Pursuant to WAC 480-100-128(6)(k), if an electric utility representative is dispatched
to disconnect service, “[t]he utility may charge a fee for the disconnection visit to the
service address if provided for in the utility’s tariff.” (Emphasis added.)

PSE’s electric and gas tariffs on file with the Commission each set forth a charge for a
disconnection visit. PSE’s Electric Tariff G, Schedule 80, General Rules and
Provisions, Item 30, and PSE’s Gas Tariff, Rule 09, Bills and Payment for Service,
Section 10, provide as follows:

DISCONNECT VISIT CHARGE—When a visit by a Company
representative to the Customer’s service address for the purpose of
disconnection does not result in disconnection of service, a service fee
of $13.00 will be charged for each visit when the visit does not result in
a disconnection of service due to:

a. Collection of payment from the Customer; or

b. Representation regarding payment by the Customer; or
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c. Upon the Company and Customer agreeing to payment
arrangements satisfactory to the Company; or

d. The Customer corrected a violation of rules that prompted
the disconnection visit.

Where a customer premises receives both natural gas and electric
service, only one charge will be made for each disconnection visit.
Disconnection visits will only be made following the required notice to
the Customer.

(Emphasis added.)

PSE committed 1,639 violations of WAC 480-90-128(6)(k) and/or WAC 480-100-
128(6)(K) during the months of April and May 2011, by improperly charging 1,639
customers a $13 disconnection visit charge for visits other than for the purpose of
actual disconnection.

The 1,639 violations of WAC 480-90-128(6)(k) and/or WAC 480-100-128(6)(k)
establish a pattern or practice in which PSE engaged before and after April and May
2011 of improperly charging customers a $13 disconnect visit charge for visits other
than for the purpose of actual disconnection.

VI. REQUEST FOR RELIEF

Staff requests that the Commission find that PSE committed 1,639 violations of laws
and rules enforced by the Commission during the months of April and May 2011, as
set forth in the allegations above.

Staff requests that the Commission impose appropriate monetary penalties on PSE
under RCW 80.04.380 for each violation.

Staff further requests that the Commission order PSE to refund the improperly
collected disconnection charges to each of the 1,639 customers affected by PSE’s
violations during the months of April and May 2011. If the Commission finds that
these violations are representative of a pattern or practice in which PSE, both before
and after April and May of 2011, improperly charged customers a $13 disconnect
visit charge for visits other than for the purpose of actual disconnection, Staff also
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requests that the Commission order PSE to refund improperly collected disconnection
charges to all customers from whom PSE collected those charges within two years
prior to the filing of this Complaint.

VIl. PROBABLE CAUSE
Based on a review of Staff’s investigation report, and all supporting documents, and
consistent with RCW 80.01.060 and WAC 480-07-307, the Commission finds
probable cause exists to issue this Complaint.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 14, 2011.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
Director, Administrative Law Division



