WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG;l 11153
PENALTY AMOUNT: $400

DB HAULING LLC
610N 20TH AVE
YAKIMA, WA 98902

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed a violation of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-70-071, which requires
solid waste companies to file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year. You are
classified as such a company. Commission records show that you did not make the filing by the
required date of May 1, 2011. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.405 allows penalties
of $100 for every such violation, Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct
offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance is a separate and
distinct violation. '

- As aresult, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $400, as follows: -

On March 11, 2011, the Commission mailed 2010 Annual Report forms and 2011
Regulatory Fee packets to registered solid waste companies. A letter from Executive
Director and Secretary David W. Danner instructed companies to file annual reports and

. pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2011. The letter also stated that failure to file an annual
report by May 1 would result in a penalty. Those companies wishing to request an
extension to file the annual report were instructed to do so before May 1. DB Hauling
LLC did not request an extension.

On April 20, 2011, the commission mailed a notice to all solid waste companies
reminding them that 2010 annual reports and 2011 regulatory fees were due by May 1,
2011.

On May 13, 2011, the Commission sent letters to those companies that had not yet filed
their reports. The letter, signed by Mr. Danner, gave an extension to companies to file
their reports by May 27, 2011. In the letter, Mr. Danner stated the Commission would not
seek a fine from, or move to cancel the authority of, any company whose report was
postmarked by May 27, 2011. ’

As of June 24, 2011, DB Hauling LLC failed to file its 2010 Annual Report.
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This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 80.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
- an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

¢ Pay the amount due.
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washingtdn Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504- 7250 within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the-
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 12, 2011.

A

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Dlrector Administrative Law D1V1s1on
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements. '

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violation occurred and enclose $400 in payment
of the penalty. :

{ 12. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an affected
person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a decision by an
administrative law judge:

[ ]3. Application for mltlgatlon I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
- be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

[ ] a) Iask fora hearing for a decision by an-administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated:l [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1} A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
_element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material isnot a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



