
 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-111100 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $400 

 

 

CYPRESS COMMUNICATIONS OPERATING COMPANY, LLC 

4 PIEDMONT CENTER NE, SUITE 600 

ATLANTA, GA 30305 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have 

committed a violation of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires 

competitively classified telecommunications companies to file annual reports with the 

Commission by May 1 each year. You are classified as such a company. Commission records 

show that you did not make the filing by the required date of May 1, 2011. Revised Code of 

Washington (RCW) 80.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such violation. Each and every 

such violation shall be a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, 

every day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation. 

 

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the 

amount of $400, as follows: 

 

On March 11, 2011, the Commission mailed 2010 Annual Report forms and 2011 

Regulatory Fee packets to competitively classified telecommunications 

companies registered in Washington State. A letter from Executive Secretary 

David W. Danner instructed companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory 

fees by May 1, 2011. The letter also stated that failure to file an annual report by 

May 1 would result in a penalty. Those companies wishing to request an 

extension to file the annual report were instructed to do so before May 1, and to 

provide a reason for the extension. Cypress Communications Operating 

Company, LLC did not request an extension. 

 

On April 20, 2011, the Commission mailed a notice to all competitively classified 

telecommunications companies reminding them that 2010 annual reports and 

2011 regulatory fees were due by May 1, 2011. 

 

On May 13, 2011, the Commission sent letters to those companies that had not yet 

filed their reports. The letter, signed by Mr. Danner, gave an extension to 

companies to file their reports by May 27, 2011. In the letter, Mr. Danner  
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stated the Commission would not seek a fine or revoke the authority of any 

company whose report was postmarked by May 27, 2011. 

 

As of July 13, 2011, Cypress Communications Operating Company, LLC failed to file a 

2010 Annual Report.  

 

The penalty is escalated because this is the company’s third consecutive violation of 

WAC 480-120-382. 

 

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request 

a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think 

should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

 

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not 

required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in 

an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. 

The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 

 Pay the amount due. 

 Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations. 

 Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 18, 2011. 

 

 

 

      __________________________ 

 

      GREGORY J. KOPTA 

Administrative Law Judge 
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $400 in payment 

of the penalty. 

 

[   ]  2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the 

following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an affected 

person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a decision by an 

administrative law judge: 

 

 

 

 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reason(s) set out below, and     

 

 

 

 

     

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge 

     OR [   ]  b) I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information  I 

present directly above. 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 

----------------------------------- 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath 

required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an 

element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a 

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”  


