WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-111065
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,300

ACTION MOVING SERVICES, INC.
10115 KNOX '
SPOKANE, WA 99206

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have -
committed multiple violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15, which
specifies how household goods moving companies may operate. The Commission also believes
you have committed multiple violations of Tariff 15-C, which identifies the rates and charges
household goods moving companies may charge their customers, as well as the items a company
must include on its estimate forms and bills of lading.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such
violation. Under this statute, each and every violation is considered a separate and distinct -
offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, each day the violation continues is considered
a separate and distinct violation,

As a part of an investigation into the business practices of Action Moving Services, Inc., the
Commission reviewed documents for 51 moves performed between July 2010 and September
2010. Commission staff identified 23 violations of WAC 480-15 and Tariff 15-C. As a result,
the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount
$2,300 for the following violations:

¢ Failure to use a proper estimate format in compliance with Commission rules and Tariff
15-C.

3 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-630

¢ Failure to properly complete an estimate for each customer prior to moving household
goods in compliance with Commission rules and Tariff 15-C.

4 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-630

» Failure to properly complete a supplemental estimate in compliance with Commission
rules and Tariff 15-C.

1 VIOLATION: WAC 480-15-630

» Failure to use a proper bill of lading format in compliance with Commission rules and
Tariff 15-C. '

2 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-710
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e Failure to properly complete a bill of lading in compliance with Comnussmn rules and
Tariff 15-C.

5 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-710

¢ Failure to charge customers only for items included in Tariff 15-C.
4 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-490

e Failure to perform long-distance moves according to Tariff 15-C.
3 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-490

 Failure to charge customers for containers according to Tariff 15-C rates.
1 VIOLATION: WAC 480-15-490

- This information, if proved at a hearmg and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
~ penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you
think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty.
See RCW 81.04.405,

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not -
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due. _
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
® Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 15, 2011,

- GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment Use add1t10na1 paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $2,300 in
" payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an
affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a decision by
an administrative law judge:

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

[ ] a) Task for ahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
. I present directly above.

T declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated:. _ ___|month/day/year], at | [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.”




