WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UW-111057
' PENALTY AMOUNT: $800

SOUTH BAINBRIDGE WATER SYSTEM, INC.
4573 POINT WHITE DRIVE NE
BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA 98110

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed a violation of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-110-505 which requires
water companies to file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year. You are
classified as such a company. Commission records show that you did not make the filing by the
required date of May 1, 2011. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.405 allows penalties
of $100 for every such violation. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct
offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance is a separate and
distinct violation.

As aresult, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed pénalties against you in the
amount of $800, as follows:

On March 11, 2011, the Commission mailed 2010 Annual Report forms and 2011
Regulatory Fee packets to water companies registered with it. A letter from Executive
Director and Secretary David W, Danner instructed companies to file annual reports and
pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2011. The letter also stated that failure to file an annual
report by May 1 would result in a penalty. Those companies wishing to request an
extension to file the annual report were instructed to do so before May 1. South
Bainbridge Water System, Inc. did not request an extension.

On April 20, 2011, the Commission mailed a notice to all water companies reminding
them that 2010 annual reports and 2011 regulatory fees were due by May 1, 2011.

South Bainbridge Water System, Inc., failed to file its 2010 annual report by the May 1
deadline. On May 13, 2011, the Commission sent letters to those companies that had not
yet filed their reports. The letter, signed by Mr. Danner, gave an extension to companies
to file their reports by May 27, 2011. In the letter, Mr. Danner stated the commission
would not seek a fine-from any company whose report was postmarked by May 27.

As of June 14, 201 1, South Bainbridge Water System, Inc. has failed to file a 2010
Annual Report. ' '
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This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment. '

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 80.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washin_gton, and effective June 28, 2011.

k//?/ @
GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72:020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and 1 have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. | admit that the violation occurred and enclose $800 in payment
' of the penalty.

[ 1 2. Requestfor a hearing. [ believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an affected
person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a dec1310n by an
administrative law judge:

[ ] 3. Application for mitigatioﬁ. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

[ 1 a) Iaskforahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaivea hearing and ask for an adminlstratlve decision on the information I
present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _ [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official -
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




