WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

- PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-110698
PENALTY AMOUNT: $600

AGATE PASS TRANSPORTATION LLC
DBA AGATE PASS TRANSPORTATION
POBOX 1142

KINGSTON, WA 98346-1142

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221,
Vehicle and driver safety requirements, which requires passenger charter carriers to comply with
Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), mcluchng Part 382, which governs controlled

~ substance and alcohol use and testing,

On April 14, 2011, Commission Moter Carrier staff John Foster completed a re-check
compliance review of Agate Pass and identiﬁed the following violations:

¢ One violation of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
382.305(b)(1), failing to conduct random alcohol testing at an annual rate of not less
than the applicable annual rate of the average number of driver positions. (For 2010,
Agate Pass had to ensure two drzvers were randomly tested, however, only one driver
was tested.)

. » Five violations of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
382.305(b)(2), failing to conduct random controlled substances testing at an annual
rate of not less than the applicable annual rate of the average number of driver
positions.. Critical Violations (For 2010, Agate Pass had to ensure nine drivers were
randomly tested, however, only four drivers were tested,)

* This 1nf0rmat1on if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explamed is sufﬁ(:lent to support the
penalty assessment. :

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may

- request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you
think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for m1t1gat10n (reduction) of this penalty
See RCW 81.04.405.

"You have the right to present your request for review or mltlgatlon at a hearing, but you are not _
required to do so. If you do, the Comrmssron will review the evrdence supportmg your request in’
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an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due,
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

- Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, ‘Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 2,'201 L.

o

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-110698

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I'have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ 11. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $600 in
payment of the penalty. :

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing, 1 believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. [ admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

[ ] a) Taskforahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the mformatlon
I present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _ | [month/day/year], at . ' [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) ~ please print ‘ Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A 72.020:

- “Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is gullty of perjury in the first degree if in any
. official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is

- not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not

“material is not a defense to a prosecutzon under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree isa
‘class B felony.” :




