WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-110656
PENALTY AMOUNT: $500

MOVING AND STORAGE SOLUTIONS, INC
1365 STONEGATE WAY
FERNDALE, WA 98248

The commission believes that you have committed one or more violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570, which requires household goods carriers to
comply with parts of Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Title 49, Code
of Federal Regulations (CFR), Part 382, which governs controlled substance and alcohol use
and testing. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.530 allows penalties of up to five
hundred dollars for every such violation.

As a result, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the amount of $500, as folIows

On April 5 and 6, 2011, Motor Carrier Safety Inspector Ray Gardner conducted a compliance
review inspection on Moving & Storage Solutions. Mr. Gardner found:

e One violation of CFR Part 382. 301(a), which requires companies to ensure each
driver receives a negative pre-employment controlled substance test resuit.
(Employee Chad Luna drove prior to having received a pre-employment
controlled substance test.)

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explalned is sufﬁ01ent to support
the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may -

request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
- not required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The admlmstratlve law judge will consider your plea and notlfy
- you of his or her de01s1on : : ‘ :
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

" DATED at OlympIa Washmgton and effectlve Aprll , 2011.




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-110656

PLEASE NOTE: You must corriplete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $500 in
payment of the penalty.

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge: '

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
- should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

[ ] a) Lask for ahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Twaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: fmonth/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print . Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree ifin any

official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under

an oath required or authorlzed by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is

" not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under thls section. (3) Perjury in the first degreeisa

class B felony :



