BEFORE THE WASHINGTON STATE
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

In the Matter of ) DOCKET TG-110264
)
Fees to be Paid by Solid Waste ) ORDER 01
Collection Companies under the )
Provisions of RCW 81.77.080 ) ORDER INCREASING
) REGULATORY FEES TO .4275
) PERCENT FOR SOLID WASTE
) COLLECTION COMPANIES
.................................. )
BACKGROUND

RCW 81.77.080 requires that every solid waste collection company operating in this state
under the jurisdiction of the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission) shall file a statement on oath showing its gross operating revenue from
intrastate operations for the preceding calendar year, or portion of the year, and pay to the
Commission a fee equal to one percent of the amount of gross operating revenue.

During the 2010 legislative session, the Legislature authorized the Commission to
increase regulatory fees paid by solid waste companies: “Pursuant to RCW 43.135.055,
the commission is authorized to increase solid waste regulatory fees to the extent
necessary to raise $100,000 in fiscal year 2011 for enforcement activities under RCW
81.77.080.” Laws of 2010, chapter 37, Section 147.

RCW 81.77.080 allows the Commission to set, by rule, minimum fees and provisions for

waiver of a minimum fee. WAC 480-70-076 sets the minimum regulatory fee at twenty-

dollars ($20.00); such fee is waived for any solid waste collection company with less than
two thousand dollars ($2,000) of total gross intrastate operating revenue.

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

The 2011 regulatory fee for solid waste collection companies is now before the
Commission for consideration. The Commission, being advised, has considered all
monies on hand, the 2010 additional legislative appropriation and authorization, and the
fees currently to be paid and has determined the fee should be set at .4275 percent. The
minimum regulatory fee is twenty-dollars ($20.00). A fee of less than twenty-dollars
(%$20.00) is waived for any solid waste collection company with less than two thousand
dollars ($2,000) of total gross intrastate operating revenue. WAC 480-70-076.
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ORDER
THE COMMISSION ORDERS:
The fee to be paid to the Commission under the provisions of RCW 81.77.080 is set at
4275 percent based on 2010 calendar year gross operating revenue from intrastate
(Washington) operations of solid waste companies. The minimum regulatory fee is
twenty-dollars ($20.00). The fee for any solid waste collection company with less than

two thousand dollars ($2,000) of total gross intrastate operating revenue is waived.

The Commissioners, having determined the fee for 2011, directed the Secretary to enter
this Order.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February 25, 2011.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

DAVID W. DANNER, Executive Director and Secretary



