WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
- FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TN-110087
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

YELM ADULT COMMUNITY CENTER
16530 103*° AVENUE SE
YELM, WA 98597

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-31-130,
Operation of motor vehicles, which requires private, non-profit transportation providers to
comply with Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Part 391, which governs
qualification of drivers. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penaltles of up to
one hundred dollars for every such violation.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $100, as follows:

On January 6, 2011, Motor Carrier Safety inspector Rick Smith completed a compliance review
of Yelm Adult Community Center. During the course of the compliance review, Mr. Smith
found the followmg

*  One violation of WAC 480-31-130, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
391.45(b)(1), Using a driver not medically examined and certified during the
preceding 24 months. Driver Robert Mann drove with an expired medical card on
9/10/10,

This information, if proved at a heanng and not rebutted or explamed is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment. :

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you
think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reductlon) of this penalty.
See RCW 81.04.405. _

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-110087

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 135 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the v1olat10ns occurred and enclose $100 in payment
ty.
of the penalty. -

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur, based on' the
following information; and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
judge:

i3 Appllcatlon for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I beheve that the penalty should
be reduced for thé reason(s) sct out below.

For these reasons:
[ 1 a)Iask forahearing fora decmon by an administrative law judge
OR [ 1 b)Iwaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregomg,
including information I have presented on any attachments is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print - Signature of Appliéa.nt

RCW 9A.72.020: : '

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
clement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

4 )
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following;

e Pay the amount due.
¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. 'The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective January 18, 2011.

s

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division



