WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-102032
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,200

HANSEN BROS TRANSFER & STORAGE CO INC
6860 COAL CREEK PKWY SE
NEWCASTLE, WA 98059

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed multiple violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15, which
specifies how household goods moving companies may issue estimates and supplemental
estimates. The Commission also believes you have committed multiple violations of Tariff 15-C,
which identifies the rates and charges household goods moving companies may charge their
customers, as well as the items a company must include on its estimate forms and bills of lading.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such
violation. Under this statute, each and every violation is considered a separate and distinct

- offense and, in the case of a continuing v101at10n each day the violation continues is considered
a separate and distinct violation.

~ "As a part of an investigation into the business practices of Hansen Bros Transfer & Storage Co
Inc, the Commission reviewed documents for 75 moves performed in June 2010. Commission -
staff identified twelve violations of WAC 480-15 and Tariff 15-C. As a result, the Commission
hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties agamst you in the amount $1,200 for the
following violations:

e Failure to properly complete an estimate for each customer prior to moving household
goods in compliance with Commission rules and Tariff 15-C.
5 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-630 _
¢ Failure to properly complete a supplemental estimate in compliance with Commission -
rules and Tariff 15-C.
4 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-630 : _
¢ Failure to properly complete a bill of lading in compliance with Commission rules and
Tariff 15-C.
3 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-710

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.
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Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you
think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty.
See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your seleétion on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washmgton 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effectlve January 6, 2011,

s

GREGORY J, KOPTA
- Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

[ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false

-statements under oath is-a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,200 in payment
of the penalty. -

[ 12. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
judge: '

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 a Iask forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
‘ present here: '

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print _ Signature of Applicant
- RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A personis guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath -
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




