WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: U-101169
PENALTY AMOUNT: $62,100

AVISTA CORPORATION
PO BOX 3727
SPOKANE, WA 99220- 3727

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed violations of Washington Administrative Codes (WACs) 480-90 and 480-100, which
govern the business practices of gas and electric companies, respectively.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW). 80.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such
violation. Under this statute, each and every violation is considered a separate and distinct
offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, each day the violation continues is considered
a separate and distinct violation. .

As a part of an investigation into Avista Corporation’s general business practices, and
specifically, the company’s application of the rule of prior obligation, Commission staff
identified a number of violations of WACs 480-90 and 480-100. As a result, the Commission
hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $62,100 for the
following 621 violations.

* Failure to properly apply the rule relating to residential service deposit requirements.
2 VIOLATIONS: WACs 480-90-113 and 480-100-113
¢ Failure to properly apply the rule of prior obligation.
573 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-100-123(3)
¢ Failure to properly disconnect service. '
8 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-100-128(6)
e Failure to provide accurate billing statements.
* 38 VIOLATIONS: WACs 480-90-178(1) and 480-100-178(1)

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to 'support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may

~request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you

think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of th1s penalty.
See RCW 80.04.405,




PENALTY ASSESSMENT U-101169 PAGE 2

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in

“an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

- DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective Dece_mber 14, 2010.
GREGORYJ.XOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT U-101169

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commiission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (prmted below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ] I. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $62,100 in
payment of the penalty.

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the
g g _
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below, and

[ 1 a} Task fora hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ 1b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official

~ proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



