- WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-091445
PENALTY AMOUNT: $900

. IRVINGTON TRANSFER AND STORAGE D/B/A
ITS GLOBAL RELOCATION SERVICES

PO BOX 20367

PORTLAND, OR 97294

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-
630, which specifies how household good moving companies may issues supplemental
estimates, and seven violations of provisions of Tariff 15-C, which identifies the rates and
charges household goods companies may charge their customers, as well as the items a
comparny must include on its estimate forms and bills of lading. Revised Code of
Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such violation.

As a part of a follow-up investigation of documents related to moves Irvington Transfer and
Storage d/b/a ITS Global Relocation Services (ITS) performed in May 2009, and of all
complaints and claims received from January 1, 2009, through May 31, 2009, Commission
staff identified a number of violations of Tariff 15-C and a violation of WAC 480-15-630(3).
As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the amount $900, as follows:

¢ Failure to include e-mail address of company on estimate form.
VIOLATION: Tariff 15-C, Item 85 (2)(a)
e Failure to include customer phone number on estimate form.
VIOLATION: Tariff 15-C, Item 85(2)(d)
¢ Failure to include origin of shipment or destination of shipment on estimate form.
VIOLATION: Tariff 15-C, Item 85(2)(f)
e Failure to properly calculate mileage for distance move between Battle Ground and
Allyn on estimate. '
VIOLATION: Tariff 15-C, Item 105(6)
¢ Failure to list proper tariff rate for long-carry charge on estimate form.
VIOLATION: Tariff 15-C, Item 160
¢ Failure to issue a supplemental estimate when the circumstances surroundmg the
move changed to increase the cost of the move.
VIOLATION: WAC 480-15-630(3)




PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-091445 ' PAGE 2

- o Failure to include e-mail address of company on bill of lading.
VIOLATION: Tariff 15-C, Item 95(1)(a)
e Failure to include address of intermediate stop on bill of lading.
VIOLATION: Tariff 15-C, Item 95(1)(f)
e Failure to properly calculate mileage for distance move between Battle Ground and
Allyn on bill of lading.
VIOLATION: Tariff 15-C, Item 95(1)(1)(i)

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment. :

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.403.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an _
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
you of his or her decision. '

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Paythe amount due.
¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 4, 2009.

JQLW

/ANN E. RENDAHL
Director, Administrative Law Division
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. PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $900 in
payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge:

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 a) Iaskforahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.”




