WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-091178
PENALTY AMOUNT: $900

OLYMPIC MOVING & STORAGE, INC.
935 POPLAR STREET EAST
OLYMPIA, WA 98501

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commisston) believes that you have
committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-560,
Equipment safety requirements, which requires household goods carriers to comply with Title
49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Part 396, which governs inspection, repair and
maintenance, and for eight violations of WAC 480-15-570, Driver safety requirements, which _
requires household goods carriers to comply with CFR Parts 382, 391 and 395, which govern
controlled substance and alcohol use and testing, qualification of drivers and hours of service of
drivers. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of up to one hundred
dollars for every such violation.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $900, as follows: :

On June 24, 2009, the Commission’s Transportation Safety Enforcement staff received
information from the Washington State Patrol that an Olympic Moving & Storage Inc. (Olympic
Moving) employee had been cited for driving with a suspended license. Commission staff
conducted an unannounced visit to Olympic Moving that same day. During the visit, staff found
that the employee had been hired on June 22, Company officials failed to check the employee’s
driver’s license status, require a drive test, conduct a background check and ensure that the
employee had a current medical card before directing the employee to drive a company movmg
truck on June 24.

Commission staff scheduled a full compliance review audit of Olympic Moving on June 30 and
July 1. During the audit, staff found additional violations of WAC 480-15-560, Equipment safety
requirements and WAC 480-15-570, Driver safety requirements. As a result of both comphance
visits, Commission staff found the following violations:

- @ One violation of WAC 480-15-560, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
- 396. ll(c)(l) Failing to certify that (veh1cle) repairs were made or were not
© necessary. .
- @ One violation of WAC 480-15-570, whlch adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
~ 382.603, Failing to ensure persons designated to determine that drivers undergo
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reasonable suspicion testing receive 60 minutes training for alcohol and/or 60 minutes
of training for controlled substances.

¢ One violation of WAC 480-15-570, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
391.11(b)(3), Using a driver lacking training or experience to safely operate the
vehicle being driven.

e One violation of WAC 480-15-570, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
391.11(b)(8), Using a driver who has not taken a road test or who has not been issued
a certificate of driver’s road test or presented an operator’s license, or certificate of
road test which the motor carrier has accepted as equivalent.

® One violation of WAC 480-15-570, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
391.15(a), Using a disqualified driver.

* One violation of WAC 480-15-570, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
391.23(a), Failing to make an inquiry into the driving record of each driver to the
appropriate State agencies in which the driver held a commercial motor vehicle
operator’s license at least once every twelve months.

¢ One violation of WAC 480-15-570, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
391.45(a), Using a driver not medically examined and certified.

¢ One violation of WAC 480-15-570, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
395.1(e)(1)(ii), which allows for a record of duty status exemption if the driver
returns to the work reporting location and is released from work within 12
consecutive hours (the driver actually worked 18 hours).

¢ One violation of WAC 480-15-570, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
395.3(a)(2), Requiring or permitting a property—carrymg commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive after the end of the 14" hour after coming on duty. '

These violations present a serious danger to public safety. Olympic Moving received recent and
thorough technical assistance from the Commission on how to comply with the rules. Staff of
Olympic Moving attended the Commission’s Household Goods Training on November 4, 2008,
and all equipment and driver safety requirements were covered. Olympic Moving staff signed a
form acknowledging that training was received for each subject.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufﬁc:Ient to support the
_penalty assessment,

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
~request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reductlon) of this

' penaIty See RCW 81.04.405.

"You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
: requlred to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence. supporting your request
~ in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law _
judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision. -
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

¢ Pay the amount due.
» Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. :

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective .Tuly 31, 2009

ANNE, RENDAHL
Director, Administrative Law D1v1s1on and
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-091178

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $900 in payment
of the penalty

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing,. | believe that the alleged violations did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
judge:

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 a)lask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ T b)Iwaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
' I present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
“including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. :

Dated: _ [month/day/year], at | [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print . = - Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



