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Regarding suspension/cancellation of 

excursion service carrier certificate for 

failure of carrier to file proof of liability 

and property damage insurance covering 

equipment. 
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Docket TE-090360  

 

Order Suspending/Canceling Certificate 

No. CH063253 

 

DRIVER FOR HIRE, INC. 

 

                                                         BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington State law requires excursion service carriers operating in intrastate 

commerce subject to regulation by the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (Commission) to file and maintain proof of liability and property damage 

insurance. 

 

2 On January 6, 2009 the Commission notified you by letter that your certificate to operate 

as an excursion service carrier in Washington State would be suspended if acceptable 

proof of insurance (Form E) was not filed by your insurance company within 60 days.  

We also told you that you could contest suspension of your certificate by requesting a 

hearing within 10 days of the notice.  

 

3 We have not received proof of insurance and you did not request a hearing. 

 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION 

 

4 The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission is an agency of the state of 

Washington having authority to regulate excursion service carriers as defined in RCW 

81.68. 

 

5 Driver For Hire, Inc. is an excursion service carrier operating in Washington State under 

certificate no. CH063253. 

 

6 On January 6, 2009, the Commission received an insurance binder valid for up to 60 

days.  The Commission notified you that if a Form E insurance certificate was not 

received within 60 days your certificate would be suspended.     

 

7 The Commission is authorized by WAC 480-30-171(1)(a) to suspend an excursion 

service certificate for failure to file and maintain proof of insurance. 
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8 The Commission is authorized by WAC 480-30-171(2)(c) to cancel an excursion service 

certificate for failure to correct conditions leading to suspension within the time defined 

in the order of suspension. 

 

ORDER 

 

9 The Commission suspends certificate no. CH063253 for a period of 30 days effective 

March 7, 2009.   

 

10 You are directed to cease all operations associated with this certificate until the 

commission receives proof of liability and property damage insurance and enters an order 

lifting the suspension and authorizes you to resume operations. 

 

11 If proof of insurance is not filed within 30 days, certificate no. CH063253 will be 

cancelled  without further notice or order. To reinstate this certificate you must submit a 

new application and acceptable proof of insurance. 

 

12 You may contest cancellation of this certificate by requesting a hearing within 10 days of 

service of this order. A hearing request does not affect the suspension status of your 

certificate. 

 

13 The Commission has delegated authority to the Secretary to enter this Order under RCW 

80.01.030 and WAC 480-07-905(5)(b). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington and effective March 9, 2009. 

         

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

 

 DAVID W. DANNER 

 Executive Director and Secretary 
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NOTICE:  This is an order delegated to the Secretary for decision.  In addition to serving 

you a copy of the decision, the Commission will post on its Internet Web site for at least 

14 days a listing of all matters delegated to the Secretary for decision.  You may seek 

Commission review of this decision.  You must file a request for Commission review of 

this order no later than fourteen (14) days after the date the decision is posted on the 

Commission’s Web site.   

 

The Commission will schedule your request for review by issuing a notice of hearing to 

be held before an administrative law judge.  The Commission, at its discretion, may 

consider your request for review in an adjudicative proceeding under RCW 34.05 Part 

IV, or in a brief adjudicative proceeding under RCW 34.05.482 through .494.  Following 

hearing, the administrative law judge will enter an initial order.  If you wish to seek 

review of the initial order, you may file a petition for administrative review under RCW 

34.05.464, or if the matter is heard in a brief adjudicative proceeding, under RCW 

34.05.491. 

 

The Commission will grant a late-filed request for review only on a showing of good 

cause, including a satisfactory explanation of why the person did not timely file the 

request.  A form for late-filed requests is available on the Commission's Web site.   

 

This notice and review process is pursuant to the provisions of RCW 80.01.030 and 

WAC 480-07-904(2) and (3), and WAC 480-07-905, as amended effective September 22, 

2008.   

 

 


