WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIGLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-081909
PENALTY AMOUNT: $300

CHARTER PARTY CARRIER OF PASSENGERS:
Customized Tours & Charters, LLC

22001 Pacific Highway South

Des Moines, WA 98198

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221,
Vehicle and driver safety requirements, which requires charter carriers to comply with Title 49,
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Part 395, which governs drivers’ hours of service
and records of duty status. Revised Code of Washington (RC'W) 81.04.405 allows penalties of up
to one hundred dollars for every such violation. ,

Asa result, the Commission hereby notifies ybu that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $300, as follows:

On September 25 2008 Commission Motor Carrler investigator Tom McVaugh completed a
compliance review of Customized Tours and Charters, LLC (Customized Tours). The

- compliance review was the result of a complaint that reported possible driver hours of service
violations by Customized Tours. Mr. McVaugh identified the following violations:

» One violation of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
395.5(a)(2), requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive for any period after having been on duty 15 hours followmg 8
consecutive hours off duty.

* Two violations of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
395.8, failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status,

This 1nformat10n if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or expiamed is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you
think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reductmn) of this penalty.
See RCW 81.04.405. ' . c

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
~ required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
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an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following;

e Pay the amount due.
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
» Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washmgton 98504 7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer ﬂ‘llS matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

- DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective October 28, 2008.

;.QZM

_"ANNE, RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify te the

- matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1] 1. Payment of penalty I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $300 in payment
of the penalty.

[ 12. Request for a hearing, I believe that the allcged violations did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law -
judge:

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
~ should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 a)Iask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR . [ 1 b)Iwaive ahearing and ask for an admlmstratlve decision on the information
I present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washmg,ton that the foregomg,
1ncludmg information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: ' [month/day/ycar], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) ~ please print - Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a-materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
- defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



