WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE -
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-081223
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200 -

Star Moving & Storage, Inc.
Post Office Box 11068
Tacoma, Washington 98411

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed a violation of Washington Administrative Code 480-15-480 which requires
household goods carriers to file annual reports with the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission (Commission) by May 1 each year, You are classified as such a
company. Commission records show that you did not make the filing by the required date of
May 1, 2008. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for
every such violation. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct offense -
~and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance shall be and be deemed to
be a separate and distinct violation. :

. As aresult, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the amount $200, as follows:

On February 29, 2008, the commission mailed 2007 Annual Report forms and

2008 Regulatory Fee packets to household goods carriers registered with it. A

letter from Executive Secretary Carole Washburn instructed companies to file

annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2008. Further, the letter stated

failure to file the annual report by May 1 could result in a penalty. Those

companies wishing to request an extension to file the annual report were asked to
- do so prior to May 1, providing a reason for the requested extension.

On April 1, 2008, the commission mailed a notice to all household goods carriers
reminding them that 2007 annual reports.and 2008 regulatory fees were due by
May 1, 2008. o

On May 1, 2008, Star Moving & Storage, Inc., filed with the commission a
petition requesting an extension of time to file its 2007 annual report as required
by WAC 480-15-480. According to Star Moving & Storage, Inc., it was unable to
prepare the report due to implementation of new accounting software. On May 15,
2008, the commission granted Star Moving & Storage, Inc.’s petition and allowed
the company additional time to file its 2007 annual report. Star Moving &
Storage, Inc., was given until July 1, 2008, to file the report.
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A review of the commission’s Annual Report Tracking System on July 2, 2008,
revealed the company has not filed the report. .

Star Moving & Storage, Inc., also failed to file its 2006 annual reports timely and,
as a result, received a $100 penalty assessment in 2007, This penalty amount of
$200 is for two consecutive years of non-compliance.

~ This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
‘administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due. .
¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

 Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July i, 2008.

,d(}, Q_,.QQQ,G

o

ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed. If you have questions regarding this penalty, please contact Sheri Hoyt,
Compliance Specialist, by phone at (360) 664-1149 or by e-mail at shoyt@utc.wa.gov.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred ﬁnd enclose $200 in
payment of the penalty. :

[ 12. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge: :

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. | admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 a) Iask for ahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaive a hearing and ask for an admlmstratlve decision on the information
I present here: : '

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
-foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: . [month/day/year], at . [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
-an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.”




