WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: .TE—080282
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,200 -

CHARTER PARTY CARRIER: OF PASSENGERS:
Genie Service Company, Inc.

1846 Terminal Drive, Suite 101

Richiand, WA 99352

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221,
Vehicle and driver safety requirements, which requires charter carriers to comply with Title 49,
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Part 391, which governs driver qualifications, and
Part 395, which governs drivers® hours of service. Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
81.04.405 allows penalties of up to one hundred dollars for every such violation,

As aresult, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penaltles against you in the
amount of $1,200, as follows:

On November 26, 2007, Commission Motor Carrier investigator John Foster conducted a
compliance review at Genie Service Company, Inc. (Genie Service Company). This compliance
review was conducted as part of a plan to monitor Genie Service Company’s overall compliance
with the Commission’s safety rules and regulations, as required by Commission Order in Docket
TE-061753. Violations are shown in bold are identical to violations previously identified in a
September 2006 compliance review:.

e One violation of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
391.51(b)(2), failing to maintain inquiries into driving records in driver’s
qualification files.

e One violation of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
395.51(b)(2), failing to maintain 1nqu1r1es into driver’s employment record in dr1ver S
qualification file.

o Three violations of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
391.51(b)(4), failing to maintain the responses to each state agency to the annual
driver record inquiry required by CFR 391.25(a).

e Three violations of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR
Part 395.5(a)(1), prohibiting motor carriers from requiring or permitting a

~_passenger-carrying commercial motor ve]ucle driver to'drive more than 10
hours.

& Faur violations of WAC 480-30- 221 Which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part

395.5(a)(2), prohibiting motor carriers from requiring or permitting a passenger-
carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty 15 hours.
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This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you
think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty.

- See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 daifgglfter receiving this notice to do one of the following:

¢ Pay the amount due. -
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
~® Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and -
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washmgton 98504 7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the.
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to.collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washmgton and effective February 22, 2008.

mw

ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-080282

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment, Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under

oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty.T admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,200 in

payment of the penalty.

[ 12. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an admrmstratlve law
judge:

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) sct out below.
[ ] a)lask for a hearing for'a decision by an administrative law judge

- OR [ ] b)Iwaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decrswn on the 1nformat10n ‘

I present here:

1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregomg,
~ including information T have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _ [month/day/vear], at s . [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print | Signature of Applicant
~RCW9A.72.020:

“Perjury in-the first: degree (1) A pérson is gullty of perjury-in the first degree ifin-any-official - T

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an

. element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



