WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-071988
PENALTY AMOUNT:; $2,000

HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER:
Miracle Movers, Inc.

P.O. Box 75565

Seattle, WA 98175

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission believes that you have committed
a violation of Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.80.070 by transporting household
goods for compensation on the public highways of the state of Washington without the
necessary permit required for such operations. RCW 81.80.070(4) allows penalties of $1,500
for every such violation. The commission also believes you have committed a violation of
RCW 81.80.357, which requires a commission permit number be listed in any advertisement
of household goods moving services. RCW 81.80.357 allows penaltles of up to $500 for
every such violation.

As aresult, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penaltics against you in
the amount $2,000, as follows:

The commission has evidence that on March 27 and 28, 2007, Miracle Movers
transported household goods from a residence in Bellevue to a residence in Mukilteo.
Miracle Movers charged $3935.58 for performing the March 27 and 28, 2007, move,
Miracle Movers has never held a permit from the commission and is therefore not
authorized to transport household goods for compensation on the public highways of
Washington.

The commission also has evidence that Miracle Movers advertises its services on a
web site (www.miraclemovers.com) and in on-line telephone directories (Dex,
Superpages, Anywho) without listing the required commission permit number.

This mformatlon if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explamed is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may

- request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mltlgatmn (reductlon) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04. 405 :
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You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in a hearing before an administrative law judge. The adm1n1strat1ve law judge will
consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

¢ Pay the amount due. _
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olyrﬂpia, Washington, and effective October 29, 2007.

Ao R Lon s

ANN E. RENDATHL
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT, Docket TV-071988

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use add1t10nal paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72,020 (printed below), which states that making false
_ statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,

under oath, the following statements, :

[ ]1 | Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $2,000 in
payment of the penalty,

[ 12 Req-uest for a hearing, I believe that the aﬂeged violations did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge:

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation, I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty
* should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below. .

[ ] a) Iask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge.
OR [ ] b) [ waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present here.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at | [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under-
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecutlon under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
elass B felony.” : o



