WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-071469
PENALTY AMOUNT: $700

HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER:
Rainier Moving Systems, Inc.

PO Box 97004 '

Bellevue, WA 98059

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-
560, which requires household goods moving companies to comply with parts of Title 49,
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Title 49 CFR Part 396, which governs
inspection and maintenance of vehicles and recordkeeping for such inspection and
maintenance. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of up to one
hundred dollars for every such violation. |

As aresult, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the amount of $700, as follows:

On June 20, 2007, Invéstigator Leon Macomber conducted a terminal safety re-check |
inspection on Rainier Moving Systems, Inc. (Rainier Moving). Mr. Macomber found:

e Two violations of 49 CFR Part 396.3(a)(1), which requires companies to maintain
a vehicle to ensure safe and proper operating conditions. Two vehicles were
placed out of service for issues with brake safety.

o Five violations of 49 CFR Part 396.3(b)(3), which requires companies to keep a
record of vehicle inspections, repair and maintenance, indicating their date and
nature. '

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment. '

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405. |
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You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not requrred to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
» Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504- 7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act w1thm 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 16, 2007.

- Aty

ANN E. RENDAHL
‘Administrative Law Judge
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- PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed. -

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the v1olat10ns occurred and enclose $700 in
payment of the penalty.

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge: '

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty
- should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ T a) Iask for ahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present here

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at ' [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1)} A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree ifin any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is

" not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not

material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.”



