WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TV-070459
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,200

HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER:
Chipman Moving & Storage, Inc.
8939 South 190" Street

Kent, Washington 98031

The commission believes that you have committed one or more violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-999, which adopts by reference Title 49, Code of
Federal Regulations (CFR) Parts 391 and 396. Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for every such violation.

As aresult, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penaltles against you in
the amount $1,200, as follows:

On January 30 and 31, 2007, Investigator Leon Macomber conducted a
terminal safety inspection re-check on your company. Mr. Macomber found
the following violations, which were identical to violations previously
identified in an October 2006 compliance review:

e One violation of CFR Part 391.51(b)(3), failing to maintain road test certificate in

driver’s qualification file, or copy of license or certificate the motor carrier
- accepted as equivalent.

¢ Five violations of CFR Part 396.3(a)(1), failing to inspect and maintain vehicle to

- ensure safe and proper operating condition.

¢ Five violations of CFR Part 396.3(b)(2), failing to have a means of indicating the
nature and due date of the various inspection and maintenance operations to be
performed. '

e One violation of CFR Part 396.17(a), using a commerc;lal motor vehlcle not
periodically inspected.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment. .
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Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

~ Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March ]_@, 2007.

Ao 9,00

ANNE. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT, Docket No. TV-070459

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,200 in
p
payment of the penalty.

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur, based on
' the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge:

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 a) Iaskforahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) I waive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information -
1 present here. ' '

I declare under penaity of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _ [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print ~ Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
- class B felony ”?



