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ORDER GRANTING PAYMENT 

ARRANGEMENT 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On April 19, 2017, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $10,200 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Safe-To-Go-

Movers d/b/a James & John Movers (Safe-To-Go-Movers or Company) for 103 critical 

violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570, which adopt by 

reference Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations Part 391 related to driver qualifications, 

and Part 395 related to driver hours of service.  

 

2 On April 27, 2017, Safe-To-Go-Movers responded to the Penalty Assessment admitting 

the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty. 

 

3 On May 8, 2017, the Commission entered Order 01, Order Granting Mitigation to $5,200. 

Order 01 directed the Company to either pay the penalty or file jointly with Commission 

staff (Staff) a proposed payment arrangement by May 19, 2017. 

 

4 On May 16, 2017, Safe-To-Go-Movers filed with the Commission a request for review of 

Order 01. 

 

5 On June 5, 2017, the Commission entered Order 02, Final Order (Order 02). Order 02 

suspended a $2,600 portion of the penalty for a period of two years subject to several 

conditions, which include a requirement that the Company either pay the $2,600 portion 

of the penalty that was not suspended within 90 days or file jointly with Staff a proposed 

payment arrangement within 20 days.  

 

6 On June 26, 2017, Staff contacted the Executive Director and Secretary of the 

Commission explaining that the Company requested to pay the penalty in five monthly 
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installments, and that Staff supports the request. The Company and Staff jointly propose 

the following payment schedule:    

 

July 3, 2017   $520 

August 1, 2017  $520 

September 1, 2017  $520 

October 2, 2017  $520 

November 1, 2017  $520 

  

7 Staff also proposes that if Safe-To-Go-Movers misses one payment, the entire balance 

will become due and payable immediately. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

8 The installment payment schedule Staff and the Company propose is reasonable. The 

Commission approves the proposal with two modifications. First, Safe-To-Go-Movers 

may make additional payments in advance of the payment due dates or pay an increased 

amount on the due dates, but no additional payment or increased amount will relieve the 

Company of its obligation to make its timely monthly installment of $520 until the full 

amount of $2,600 is satisfied. Finally, if Safe-To-Go-Movers fails to pay the penalty by 

the date it becomes due in full – either immediately upon a missed installment, or 

November 1, 2017, whichever applies – the Commission may cancel the Company’s 

household goods permit.   

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT: 

 

9 (1) The $2,600 penalty is due and payable to the Commission in installments as set 

out in paragraph 6, above. 

 

10 (2) If Safe-To-Go-Movers, LLC d/b/a James & John Movers fails to pay any 

installment by 5 p.m. on the date it is due, the unpaid balance will immediately 

become due and payable without further order by the Commission.   
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11 (3) If Safe-To-Go-Movers, LLC d/b/a James & John Movers fails to pay any portion 

of the assessed penalty by the due date, the Commission may cancel the 

Company’s household goods permit by order in this docket. 

 

12 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 3, 2017. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   

 

 


