Service Date: April 18, 2024

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-240199 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$100

Premier Coaches Northwest, Inc. d/b/a Premier Coaches Northwest 10202 Lakeview Ave SW Lakewood, WA 98499

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Premier Coaches Northwest, Inc. d/b/a Premier Coaches Northwest (Premier Coaches Northwest or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 383 – Commercial Driver's License Standards; Requirements and Penalties.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On March 13, 2024, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Arber Demiri completed a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) inspection of Premier Coaches Northwest and documented the following violation:

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 383.23(a)(2) - Endorsements - commercial driver license (CDL) - Operate a CMV without proper endorsements on operator's license. The Company allowed driver Bruce Kilmer to operate a CMV without required corrective lenses. The driver was placed out-of-service.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for this violation:

- 1. **How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.** The violation noted is serious and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that use drivers to operate CMVs without required corrective lenses put their customers and the traveling public at risk. This violation presents a significant safety concern.
- 2. Whether the violation was intentional. Considerations include:
  - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
  - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

Premier Coaches Northwest began its operations in 2007 and has been subject to previous safety investigations conducted by Staff. In the Company's application for passenger transportation authority, the company's owner John W Burnett acknowledged their responsibility for understanding and complying with applicable state and federal safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violation. Premier Coaches Northwest did not self-report this violation.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The driver was cooperative throughout the safety inspection.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violation and remedied the impacts. Premier Coaches Northwest has not provided Staff with evidence of correction.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified three violations during the inspection of Premier Coaches Northwest's driver and vehicle. Of those violations, Staff identified one violation that warrants a penalty in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy. This violation resulted in the driver being placed out-of-service.
- 7. **The number of customers affected**. Premier Coaches Northwest last reported traveling 125,033 intrastate miles for 2022. This safety violation presents a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company's drivers and vehicles have been subject to five inspections since 2022 with no violations for operating without proper endorsements or restrictions on CDL. The driver was cooperative throughout the inspection process. Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Rick Henderson, Safety Director, is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs 8 drivers and operates 7 CMVs. The Company reported \$1,298,841.20 in gross revenue in 2022.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Docket A-12,00061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Premier Coaches Northwest \$100 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 383.23(a)(2) - Endorsements - (CDL) - Operate a CMV without proper endorsements on operator's license. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this out-of-service violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

## You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation.
- Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <a href="https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form">https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</a> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).<sup>3</sup>

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 18, 2024.

/s/ Michael Howard MICHAEL HOWARD Director, Administrative Law Division

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-240199

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. OR	<ul> <li>Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation(s) occurred.</li> <li>[ ] Enclose \$100 in payment of the penalty.</li> <li>[ ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.</li> </ul>		
[ ] 2.	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	/	I ask for a hearing to present eviden inistrative law judge for a decision.	ace on the information I provide above to
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision basabove.	sed solely on the information I provide
[ ] 3.	<b>Application for mitigation.</b> I admit the violation(s), but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):		
	[ ] a)	I ask for a hearing to present eviden an administrative law judge for a de	ace on the information I provide above to ecision.
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision basabove.	sed solely on the information I provide
		enalty of perjury under the laws of the ation I have presented on any attachm	e state of Washington that the foregoing, nents, is true and correct.
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
Name o	f Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.