
  Service Date: January 3, 2024 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-231002 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $200 

Sachelava Inc. 

d/b/a Show Me Seattle 

8110 7th Avenue S 

Seattle, WA 98108 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Sachelava 

Inc., d/b/a Show Me Seattle (Sachelava or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code 

(WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of 

Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 393 – Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operations; 

and 49 C.F.R. Part 395 – Hours of Service of Drivers. 

 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 

the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 

violation. 

On December 19, 2023, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Arber Demiri completed a 

routine safety investigation of Sachelava and documented the following violations: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.62(a) – No or defective bus emergency exits. One 

commercial motor vehicle (CMV) was placed out-of-service due to an obstruction of the 

rear emergency exit door.1 

• Thirty-five violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) - Failing to require a driver to 

prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Company failed to 

require drivers James Grindle, David Klugh, and Mark Ukelson to prepare a record of 

duty status using the appropriate method on 35 occasions between May 1 and September 

29, 2023. 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

this violation: 

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious 

and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that: (1) use 

CMVs with obstructed emergency exits, and (2) fail to maintain records of duty status put 

their customers and the traveling public at risk. These violations present significant safety 

concerns. 

 
1 Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) 1FDEE3FS1BDA73516 
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2. Whether the violation was intentional. Considerations include:  

• Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical 

assistance; and  

• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.   

On June 24, 2014, the Commission received the Company’s application for charter and 

excursion authority. In the application, Michael Rogers, president of Sachelava, 

acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with applicable 

safety laws and regulations.  

Sachelava has been subject to previous safety investigations conducted by Staff. The 

Company knew or should have known about these requirements. 

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violation. Sachelava did not self-report these 

violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 

cooperative throughout the safety investigation.  

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violation and remedied the impacts. 

Sachelava made corrections during the investigation.  

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 10 violation types with a total of 70 

individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Sachelava. Of those 

violations, Staff identified two violation types with 36 individual occurrences that 

warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy.  

7. The number of customers affected. Sachelava last reported traveling 81,501 miles for 

2022. These safety violations present a public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Company was cooperative throughout the safety 

investigation and was provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the 

Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and 

how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these factors, Staff believes the 

likelihood of recurrence is low. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.  

The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations. 

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Jeffery Brennan, Director of Safety, is 

responsible for the Company’s safety compliance program.  

11. The size of the Company. The Company employs five drivers and operates five CMVs. 

The Company reported $981,602 in gross revenue in 2022. 
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The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.2 The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation 

category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Sachelava 

$200 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.62(a) – No or defective bus emergency exits. The 

Commission assesses a $100 penalty for this out-of-service violation. 

• Thirty-five violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) - Failing to require a driver to prepare a 

record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Commission assesses a $100 

“per category” penalty for these first-time critical violations. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you 

from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence 

presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if 

material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any 

request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written 

statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in 

denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the amount due. 

• Contest the occurrence of the violation. 

• Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

 
2 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after 

you receive this Penalty Assessment.3 If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it 

via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may 

send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, 

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).4 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection.   

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective January 3, 2024. 

/s/ Michael Howard 

MICHAEL HOWARD 

Director, Administrative Law Division

 
3 https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form. 

4 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now 

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cstacey.brewster%40utc.wa.gov%7C184e666112fd4f0dd84b08db095f25a7%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114076480296165%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=6NM7X7%2Fu9ypm9iMNyWquTWSLjAc1Uu4m1gvSFU9DkaA%3D&reserved=0
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now


PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-231002 PAGE 5 

 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-231002 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. 

[  ] Enclose $200 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 

portal. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 

here, your request will be denied): 

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 

your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a 

materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's 

mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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