
Service Date: November 28, 2023 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-230948 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

 Investigation # 8749 

EMAIL SERVICE 

 UBI:  602-633-401

Jayson Grainger 

Cameron-Reilly LLC d/b/a CR Concrete 

Phone: (509) 466-5555

309 North Park Rd 

Spokane, WA 99212 

Jayson@cameron-reilly.com 

 

 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Cameron-

Reilly LLC (CR Concrete or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 

19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and caused damage to an 

underground gas facility.  

 

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator 

service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more 

than $10,000 for each violation. 

 

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, 

investigation reports, a review of the One Call Center database, and communications with the 

Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved CR Concrete 

damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. 

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you 

that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 

 

1. Alleged Violation:  

On May 10, 2023, CR Concrete was excavating at 3928 E 24th Ave, Spokane, Washington. 

While excavating, CR Concrete workers damaged an underground Avista Corporation 

(Avista) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report 

submitted by Avista on June 13, 2023, indicated that CR Concrete was excavating without 

a valid request to locate underground utilities.  

 

2. Analysis:  

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 

excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On May 

10, 2023, CR Concrete was excavating to replace a sidewalk when it damaged a natural gas 

mailto:Jayson@cameron-reilly.com
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line. Information from Avista states the line was shallow, however, there was no locate 

request for CR Concrete. On November 20, 2024, Staff received an email from CR 

Concrete explaining that the homeowner had a locate ticket and believed they knew where 

the line was. Staff reviewed the One Call ticket database and did not find a locate ticket for 

CR Concrete for this location. Staff reminded CR Concrete that it needs to call for its own 

locate ticket before beginning excavation.    

 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 

for the violation: 

 

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

These incidents could have been significantly more harmful to Company workers, utility 

technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and could have resulted in severe injury 

and/or loss of property. 

 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 

Washington state’s dig law. Over the past 12 months, CR Concrete has submitted 48 

requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates the Company’s knowledge 

of its requirements and responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before 

beginning excavation. 

 

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 

CR Concrete did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the 

violation when Avista filed a DIRT report.  

 

4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

CR Concrete’s likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward 

and its willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning 

excavation.  

 

5.  The Company’s previous violations and penalties.  

• Warning Letter  

o On December 6, 2013, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of 

Washington Dig Law letter to CR Concrete. The letter included detailed 

information about Washington State’s underground utility damage prevention 

act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the 

possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letter after 

receiving a report of damage caused by CR Concrete on September 1, 2013, that 

occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground 

utilities before excavating. 

 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize CR Concrete 

as follows:  

• $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an 

$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: 
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1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe 

Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) 

within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and 

3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 

months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 

Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 

penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 

following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 

• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 

o CR Concrete management and the field crew responsible for excavation must 

complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) 

within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 

Commission; and 

o CR Concrete must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 

months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or 

• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 

receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 

email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 

paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 

Washington 98504-7250. 

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
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If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective November 28, 2023. 

 

/s/Michael Howard 

       MICHAEL HOWARD 

Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-230948 Investigation # 8749 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:   

[  ] Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 

portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the 

payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 

ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following 

conditions:   

o Company management must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA 

within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 

Commission; and  

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 

twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 

I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 

request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

 

[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 

application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 
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I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 

 

 

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes 

a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 

actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a 

prosecution under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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