Service Date: November 1, 2023

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TN-230862 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$400

Northshore Senior Center 10201 East Riverside Drive Bothell, WA 98011

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Northshore Senior Center (Northshore Senior Center or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-31-100, Equipment - Safety, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 393 – Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation Part, and WAC 480-31-130, Operation of Motor Vehicles, which adopts 49 C.F.R. Part 391– Qualifications of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On October 16, 2023, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Tracy Cobile completed a routine safety investigation of Northshore Senior Center and documented the following violations:

- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified. Northshore Senior Center allowed drivers Clifford Perry and Yusuf Ahmed to operate a motor vehicle without a valid medical certificate on two occasions between September 22, 2023, and September 29, 2023.
- One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.41 No or defective parking brake system. Commission staff (Staff) discovered a motor vehicle operating with a defective parking brake system. This vehicle was placed out-of-service.<sup>1</sup>
- One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.62(e) No or inadequate bus emergency exit marking. Staff discovered a motor vehicle with an emergency exit not marked. This vehicle was placed out-of-service. <sup>2</sup>

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

1. **How serious or harmful the violations are to the public.** The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Private, nonprofit transportation providers

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Vehicle Identification Number 1FDEE3FS7KDC35813

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Vehicle Identification Numbers 1FDFE4FS9HDC26632

that: (1) use drivers who are not medically examined and certified (2) operate motor vehicles in need of repair, and (3) fail to mark emergency exits in motor vehicles, put their customers and the traveling public at risk. These violations present significant safety concerns.

#### 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:

- Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's previous technical assistance; and
- Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On February 26, 2016, Northshore Senior Center filed an application with the Commission to provide Non-profit Bus Carrier services in the state of Washington. In the application, the Company acknowledged its responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety requirements.

On March 16, 2016, Staff provided new entrant carrier safety regulation training to Northshore Senior Center which included technical assistance pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Northshore Senior Center did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative throughout the safety investigation.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Northshore Senior Center provided Staff with evidence that it has corrected the violations.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified 16 violation types with a total of 44 individual occurrences during its follow-up safety investigation of Northshore Senior Center. Of those violations, Staff identified three violation types with four individual occurrences that warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** Northshore Senior Center reported traveling 66,712 miles in 2022. These safety violations presented a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company was cooperative throughout the safety investigation and was provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The company provided staff with

evidence that it corrected the violations. In light of these factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.

- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Cliff Perry is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs 14 drivers and operates 11 motor vehicles. The Company reported \$3,528,488 in gross revenue for 2022.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.<sup>3</sup> The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Northshore Senior Center \$400 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each count of these critical violations, for a total of \$200.
- One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.41 No or defective parking brake system. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this out-of-service violation.
- One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.62(e) No or inadequate bus emergency exit marking. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this out-of-service violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

### You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <a href="https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form">https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</a> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).<sup>5</sup>

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective November 1, 2023.

/s/ Michael Howard
MICHAEL HOWARD
Director, Administrative Law Division

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

 $<sup>^{5}\</sup> https://www.utc.wa.g\underline{ov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now}$ 

# WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-230862

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

OR	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred.  [ ] Enclose \$400 in payment of the penalty.  [ ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment		
[ ] 2.	portal.  Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the		
	reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
		I ask for a hearing to present evidence nistrative law judge for a decision.	e on the information I provide above to
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision base above.	d solely on the information I provide
[ ] 3.	<b>Application for mitigation.</b> I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below ( <b>if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied</b> ):		
	[ ] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence an administrative law judge for a dec	e on the information I provide above to ision.
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision base above.	d solely on the information I provide
	-	enalty of perjury under the laws of the ation I have presented on any attachme	State of Washington that the foregoing, nts, is true and correct.
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
Name o	f Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.