Service Date: April 4, 2023

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-230199 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$800

Octopus Movers Services LLC d/b/a Octopus Movers 3511 S Ronald Dr. Seattle, WA 98118

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Octopus Movers Services LLC d/b/a Octopus Movers (Octopus Movers or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 395 – Hours of Service of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On March 20, 2023, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Tracy Cobile completed a followup safety investigation of Octopus Movers and documented the following violations:

• Eight violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Company failed to require driver Alberto Moreno Mendoza to complete a record of duty status on eight occasions between January 1 and January 30, 2023.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that fail to maintain records of duty status put their customers' belongings and the traveling public at risk. These violations present safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
 - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
 - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On September 13, 2018, the Commission received the Company's application for household goods moving authority. In the application, Alberto Moreno Mendoza, owner

of Octopus Movers, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

On November 24, 2020, the Commission received the Company's application to reinstate its permit for household goods moving authority. In the application, Alberto Moreno Mendoza acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

On December 16, 2020, Alberto Moreno Mendoza attended household goods training provided by Staff and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations. The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

On April 14, 2022, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Octopus Movers and identified violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1). The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Octopus Movers did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative throughout the safety investigation.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Octopus Movers has not provided Staff with evidence that it corrected the violations.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified six violation types with a total of 14 individual occurrences during its follow-up safety investigation of Octopus Movers. Of those violations, Staff identified one violation type with eight individual occurrences that warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** Octopus Movers reported traveling 5,865 miles in 2022. These safety violations presented a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company incurred repeat violations despite prior technical assistance. Absent a commitment to prioritize safe operations, violations are likely to reoccur.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. On April 27, 2022, the Commission issued a Notice of Intent to Cancel the Company's household goods moving permit in Docket TV-220274, after the safety investigation of Octopus Movers resulted in a proposed unsatisfactory safety rating. On May 6, 2022, the Company was penalized \$2,700 in the same docket for safety violations of WAC 480-15-555, WAC 480-15-560, and WAC 480-15-570. On May 10, Octopus Movers paid the \$2,700 penalty in full.

On June 2, 2022, the Commission entered Order 01 in Docket TV-220274, which approved the Company's safety management plan, upgraded the Company's safety rating to conditional, and extended the Company's provisional period.

- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Alberto Moreno Mendoza is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs two drivers and operates two commercial motor vehicles. The Company reported \$83,289 in gross revenue for 2022.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Octopus Movers \$800 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

• Eight violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of this repeat critical violation, for a total of \$800.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

¹ Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).³

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 4, 2023.

/s/ Michael Howard for RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

-

² https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

 $^{^{3}\ \}underline{\text{https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now}}$

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-230199

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1. OR	[] Enclose \$800 in payment of the penalty.			
] 2.	2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your of here, your request will be denied):			
			I ask for a hearing to present evic nistrative law judge for a decision	lence on the information I provide above to	
	OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision above.	based solely on the information I provide	
be red		be reduc	ation for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should used for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting pplication here, your request will be denied):		
		[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evid an administrative law judge for a	dence on the information I provide above to decision.	
	OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision above.	based solely on the information I provide	
			enalty of perjury under the laws of ation I have presented on any attac	the State of Washington that the foregoing, hments, is true and correct.	
D	ated: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]	
_ N	ame o	f Respond	lent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant	

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.