Service Date: April 4, 2023

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-230198 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$2,500

David Lu d/b/a Grandma's Boy Moving Co. 337 NE 103rd St., Apt. 2-641 Seattle, WA 98125

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes David Lu d/b/a Grandma's Boy Moving Co. (Grandma's Boy Moving or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees, and WAC 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 395 – Hours of Service of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On March 20, 2023, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Tracy Cobile completed a follow-up safety investigation of Grandma's Boy Moving and documented the following violations:

- One violation of WAC 480-15-555(1) Failing to conduct or retain paperwork containing criminal background checks or hiring an individual with a disqualifying conviction for a household goods carrier in the state of Washington. Grandma's Boy Moving failed to conduct a criminal background check prior to hiring employee Fred Thurman.
- One violation of WAC 480-15-555(2) Failing to maintain evidence of background check for the term of employment and three years after termination. The Company failed to maintain the required background check for employee Javon Parks.
- Twenty-three violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Company failed to require driver David Lu to complete a record of duty status on 23 occasions between January 1 and January 30, 2023.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that: (1) fail to conduct criminal background checks on their employees, (2) fail to maintain evidence of background checks, and (3) fail to maintain records of duty status put their

customers, their customers' belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present significant safety concerns.

- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
 - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
 - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On May 18, 2021, the Commission received the Company's application for household goods moving authority. In the application, David Lu, owner of Grandma's Boy Moving, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

On June 16, 2021, David Lu attended household goods training provided by Staff and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

On March 2, 2022, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Grandma's Boy Moving and identified violations of WAC 480-15-555 and 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1). The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Grandma's Boy Moving did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative throughout the safety investigation.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Grandma's Boy Moving provided Staff with evidence that it has corrected some of the violations through a safety management plan.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified six violation types with a total of 28 individual occurrences during its follow-up safety investigation of Grandma's Boy Moving. Of those violations, Staff identified three violation types with 25 individual occurrences that warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** Grandma's Boy Moving reported traveling 35,000 miles in 2022. These safety violations presented a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company incurred repeat violations despite prior technical assistance and suspended penalties. Absent a significant commitment to prioritize safe operations, the violations are likely to reoccur.

9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. On March 22, 2022, the Commission issued a Notice of Intent to Cancel the Company's household goods moving permit in Docket TV-220149, after the safety investigation of Grandma's Boy Moving resulted in a proposed conditional safety rating. On April 4, 2022, the Company was penalized \$8,900 in Docket TV-220150 for safety violations of WAC 480-15-555, WAC 480-15-560, and WAC 480-15-570.

On April 11, 2022, the Commission entered Order 01 in consolidated Dockets TV-220149 and TV-220150, which approved the Company's safety management plan, extended the Company's provisional period, assessed a reduced penalty of \$4,700, and suspended a \$2,700 portion of the reduced penalty for a period of two years, subject to conditions. The Company paid the \$2,000 non-suspended portion of the penalty in full.

- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** David Lu is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs one driver and operates one commercial motor vehicle. The Company reported \$140,000 in gross revenue for 2022.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Grandma's Boy Moving \$2,500 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

- One violation of WAC 480-15-555(1) Failing to conduct or retain paperwork containing criminal background checks or hiring an individual with a disqualifying conviction for a household goods carrier in the state of Washington. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this violation.
- One violation of WAC 480-15-555(2) Failing to maintain evidence of background check for the term of employment and three years after termination. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this violation.

¹ Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

• Twenty-three violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of this repeat critical violation, for a total of \$2,300.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).3

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide

2

² https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

³ https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 4, 2023.

/s/ Michael Howard for RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-230198

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1. OR	[] Enclose \$2,500 in payment of the penalty.		
[] 2.		Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
			I ask for a hearing to present evic nistrative law judge for a decision	dence on the information I provide above to
	OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision above.	based solely on the information I provide
[] 3.		Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):		
		[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evid an administrative law judge for a	dence on the information I provide above to a decision.
	OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision above.	based solely on the information I provide
			enalty of perjury under the laws of ation I have presented on any attac	f the State of Washington that the foregoing, chments, is true and correct.
D	ated: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
_ N	ame o	f Respond	lent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.