Service Date: April 3, 2023

UBI: 603-539-124 Phone: (509) 881-7513

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-230173 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation # 8683

**EMAIL SERVICE** 

Anthony Lopez
A & G Brothers General Construction LLC
2616 26<sup>th</sup> Ct. NE
East Wenatchee, WA 98802
Angbrothers2015@gmail.com

## YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that A & G Brothers General Construction LLC (A & G Brothers or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and caused damage to an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to an underground gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, a review of the One Call Center database, and attempted communications with the Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved A & G Brothers damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

#### **Alleged Violation(s):**

On October 11, 2022, A & G Brothers was excavating at 330 Roosevelt Ave, Apt. 1, Wenatchee, Washington. While excavating, A & G Brothers' workers struck and damaged an underground Cascade Natural Gas Corporation (CNG) facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by CNG on October 21, 2022, indicated that A & G Brothers was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

### **Analysis:**

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On October 11, 2022, A & G Brothers were excavating for site prep with a backhoe when it struck a CNG underground natural gas line. CNG mailed A & G Brothers a damage notification letter, an invoice, and treble charges totaling more than \$2,500.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount for the violation:

## 1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have caused more severe harm to other employees, or the public, and could have resulted in additional undue expenses and hardships.

#### 2. Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation does not appear to be intentional, but rather due to the Company's negligence. A & G Brothers has been in the construction business since 2015 and was previously issued a warning letter regarding violations of the Dig Law.

## 3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.

A & G Brothers did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation when CNG filed a DIRT report following the damage incident.

## 4. The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on A & G Brothers' actions going forward, and its willingness to notify the one-number locate service before beginning excavation and maintain the validity of those locate tickets throughout the duration of its projects.

## 5. The Company's previous violations and penalties.

## • Warning Letters

On July 11, 2019, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to A & G Brothers. The letter included detailed information about Washington state's underground utility damage prevention act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by A & G Brothers on March 30, 2019, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize A & G Brothers as follows:

- \$1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:
  - 1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;

- 2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending training; and
- 3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

# <u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
  - A & G Brothers management and the field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (<a href="https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh">https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh</a>) within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
  - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending training; and
  - A & G Brothers must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <a href="https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form">https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</a> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1

**If you do not act within 15 days,** the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 3, 2023.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-230173 Investigation # 8683

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[ ] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violation occurred:

| C   | )R | <ul><li>[ ] Enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.</li><li>[ ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.</li></ul>  |  |  |  |
|-----|----|--|--|--|--|
| [ ] | 2. | <ul> <li>Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$200 toward the payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission's offer to suspend and ultimately waive, the remaining \$800 penalty amount subject to the following conditions:         <ul> <li>Company management must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUC within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and</li> <li>The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and</li> <li>The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.</li> </ul> </li> </ul> |  |  |  |
| [ ] | 3. | Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):  |  |  |  |
| C   | )R | <ul> <li>[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.</li> <li>[ ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.</li> </ul>  |  |  |  |
| [ ] | 4. | Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting application here, your request will be denied):  |  |  |  |
| C   | )R | <ul> <li>[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.</li> <li>[ ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.</li> </ul>  |  |  |  |

| I declare under penalty of per<br>including information I have | <i>5</i> • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • | U              | υ ,           |
|--|--|----------------|---------------|
| Dated:   | [Month/Day/Year], at                           |                | [City, State] |
| Name of Respondent (Compa                                      | nny) – please print                            | Signature of A | Applicant     |

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.