Service Date: February 15, 2024

STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

621 Woodland Square Loop S.E. e Lacey, Washington 98503
P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o TTY (360) 586-8203

RE: MANDATORY APPEARANCE BEFORE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
Unlawful Activity as Household Goods Carrier in Violation of RCW 81.80.075
Docket TV-230885

Dear Ihor Kruhlyi, d/b/a IK Moving Services LLC:

It has come to the attention of the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission) that your company, IK Moving Services LLC, is engaging in business activity
requiring a permit under Washington state law. Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
81.80.075(1) states that “no person shall engage in business as a household goods carrier without
first obtaining a household goods carrier permit” from the Commission.

The Commission is initiating an enforcement action against you and your company. This letter
and its attachments are the Commission’s formal demand that you cease operating until you
obtain the required household goods permit for your company. Until you obtain that permit, you
must also stop all advertising of your company’s household goods moving services. Failure to do
so may result in a serious financial penalty.

Please be aware that operating as a household goods mover without the required permit is illegal
and subject to a penalty of up to $5,000 per violation. The penalty for advertising household
goods moving services without a permit is also up to $5,000 per advertisement. Engaging in
business as a household goods carrier in violation of a commission issued cease and desist order
is subject to a penalty of up to $10,000 for each violation.

As the attached documents explain, you are now REQUIRED TO VIRTUALLY APPEAR
before one of the Commission’s Administrative Law Judges on March 27, 2024, at 1:30 p.m.
The basis for the Commission’s enforcement action is explained in the attached Order and the
supporting Declaration of Jack Graham. The subpoena details the requirement for you to appear
at the hearing about your unpermitted business.

You have the option to work with Commission Staff in advance of the hearing to negotiate
an agreed outcome. If you wish to explore this option, please contact Jack Graham at (360) 664-
1143 or Jack.Graham@utc.wa.gov and schedule a time to meet via telephone or Zoom. Staff will
explain the laws and rules governing the household goods moving industry and advise you of
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your options to agree to cease and desist unpermitted operations and pay a lesser penalty or to
contest the allegations at hearing. If you agree to cease operating as an unpermitted household
goods carrier unless and until you receive a permit from the Commission, you will be offered the
option to pay a reduced penalty. If you and Staff agree to a penalty amount, you may sign a
settlement agreement that explains your commitment to cease and desist unpermitted operations
and sets out the terms of any payment plan.

If you fail to contact Staff in advance of the hearing date, you will be expected to appear and take
one of the following actions at the hearing:

Option A- Cease Operating as a Household Goods Carrier

The Administrative Law Judge will allow you to testify, under oath, that you have shut
down your business. You should be prepared to explain specific actions you have taken to
dissolve your company and to discontinue any advertising you may have previously
arranged (websites, phone books, newspapers, etc.). This does not stop you from applying
for a household goods permit. It simply means that you will cease illegal operations until
you do. Should you choose to apply for a permit in advance of the hearing and the
Commission deems you eligible to receive a temporary permit, you may present that
information at the hearing.

Option B- Contest the Applicability of RCW 81.80.075 to Your Company

The Administrative Law Judge will allow you to testify, under oath, that RCW 81.80.075
does not apply to your company. At that time, you will be required to present proof that
your business is not within the regulatory jurisdiction of the Commission. If the Judge
decides in your favor, the Commission will dismiss the complaint against you. If the Judge
rules against you, you will need to proceed under Option A or risk further enforcement
action by the Commission.

If you fail to appear at the hearing, you will be held in default, which means the Commission will
enter an order classifying you as a household goods carrier and imposing the maximum penalty
that Commission Staff requests.

As you prepare for your preliminary hearing, you may find the Commission’s informational
handouts included in this packet to be helpful. You might also wish to review the laws and
related rules governing your business. These include:

e RCW Chapter 81.80
e Washington Administrative Code (WAC) Chapter 480-15

These legal resources and other helpful items can be found on the Commission’s website:
https://www.utc.wa.gov/MovingCompanies. If you have any questions about the permit
application, the Commission’s Licensing Services staff is available at (360) 664-1222.



https://www.utc.wa.gov/MovingCompanies

If you have any questions about your obligations under the law and your mandatory appearance,
Jack Graham, Compliance Investigator, is available at (360) 664-1143 or
Jack.Graham@utc.wa.gov.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Sincerely,

KATHY HUNTER
Acting Executive Director and Secretary

Attachments:

1) Order 01- Order Instituting Special Proceeding; Complaint Seeking to Impose Penalties;
Notice of Hearing (set for March 27, 2024, at 1:30 p.m.)

2) Subpoena

3) Declaration of Jack Graham

4)
5)

6)

Application Packet for Household Goods Carrier Permit
UTC Informational Handouts
a. Transportation Regulation Fact Sheet
c. Motor Carrier Insurance Requirements Fact Sheet
Pro Se Litigants Information — Representing Yourself in Proceedings before the Washington
Utilities and Transportation Commission



