### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

### PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-200424 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$6,000 Investigation # 8169

UBI: 603-05-022 Phone: (360) 551-2318

Edge West, LLC 1386 SE Lund Ave., Ste 16 Port Orchard, WA 98366

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Edge West, LLC, (Edge West or Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055 by failing to provide the required notice to facility operators through a one-number locator service prior to excavating and subsequently damaging underground natural gas facilities. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to an underground hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports submitted by Cascade Natural Gas Corporation (CNGC) that identified natural gas damage events involving Edge West. Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$6,000 penalty against the Company on the following grounds:

### **First Violation**

On February 26, 2019, Edge West struck and damaged a CNGC natural gas line while excavating at 2427 Seringa Ave., Bremerton, Washington. On February 28, 2019, CNGC submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for Edge West at this location on this date.

The Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to the Company on June 5, 2019, that included detailed information about the requirements of Washington state's underground utility damage prevention act and the possibility of penalties for each violation of the statute.

#### **Second Violation**

On September 26, 2019, Edge West struck and damaged a CNGC underground gas line while excavating at 4251 Andasio Loop SE, Port Orchard, Washington. Before beginning excavation, Edge West failed to request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities.

On October 2, 2019, CNGC submitted a DIRT report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for the Company at this location on this date.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$6,000 penalty against Edge West for two violations of RCW 19.122 for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator service before excavating, as follows:

- \$5,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.055 that occurred on February 26, 2019; and
- \$1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.055 that occurred on September 26, 2019.

Staff's research indicates that Edge West submitted 51 requests to locate underground utilities in Washington in 2018, and 62 in 2019. After considering all of the circumstances, Staff recommends that the Commission offer to suspend \$5,000 of the \$6,000 penalty amount for a period of one year subject to the conditions that: (1) the Company incurs no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice; and (2) Company management complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 12 months of the date of this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a penalty of \$6,000, with an offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, \$5,000 of the \$6,000 penalty amount subject to the conditions listed above. If the Company fails to comply with the conditions, the \$5,000 suspended penalty will become immediately due and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for the additional violations.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for either or both of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

## You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$6,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$1,000 of the penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining \$5,000 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
  - Company management must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; and
  - The Company must submit documentation of attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and
  - The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

**If you do not act within 15 days,** the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 19, 2020.

/s/ *Rayne Pearson* RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-200424, Investigation # 8169

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

- [ ] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$6,000 in payment of the penalty.
- [ ] 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and have enclosed \$1,000 of the penalty amount. I also accept the Commission's offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining \$5,000 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
  - Company management must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within twelve (12) months of this Notice; and
  - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and
  - The Company may not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.
- [] 3. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):
  - [ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
  - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
- [ ] 4. **Request mitigation.** I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (**if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied**):
  - [ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
  - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: \_\_\_\_\_ [Month/Day/Year], at \_\_\_\_\_ [City, State]

# RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."