
  Service Date: August 4, 2025 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-250501 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200 

First Student, Inc. 
201 NE Park Plaza Drive, Suite 246 
Vancouver, WA 98684 
Gregory.Newman@firstgroup.com 
 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that First 
Student, Inc. (First Student or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-
30-221, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal 
Regulations (C.F.R.) Part 393 – Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation. 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 
violation. 

On June 23, 2025, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Francine Gagne completed a follow 
up safety investigation of First Student and documented the following violations: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.28 – Buses – Electrical cable insulation 
chafed/frayed/damaged/burnt exposing wire. Commission staff (Staff) discovered a 
commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with the wiring to the front heated mirror exposed 
through the protective cover on the passenger side. The vehicle was placed out-of-
service.1 
 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.75(a)(3) – Tire flat and/or audible air leak. Staff 
discovered a CMV with a flat tire. The vehicle was placed out-of-service.2 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 
these violations: 

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are very 
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that use 
CMVs with exposed wires and flat tires put their customers and the traveling public at 
risk. These violations present serious safety concerns. 

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:  

• Whether the company ignored Staff’s previous technical assistance; and  

 
1 VIN 4UZABRDTHIHCJD4945 
2 VIN 4UZABRFCXKCKT8522 
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• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 
the company knew of and failed to correct the violations.   

The Company began operations in Washington state in 2009 and has been subject to 
numerous safety investigations and technical assistance assignments provided by Staff. 
 
The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.  
 

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. The Company did not self-report 
these violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 
cooperative throughout the safety investigation and expressed a desire to come into 
compliance. 

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 
The Company notified Staff that it corrected the violations.  

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 12 violation types with a total of 24 
occurrences. Of those violations, Staff identified two violation types with two individual 
occurrences that warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement 
Policy. 

7. The number of customers affected. The Company reported 1,026,000 miles traveled in 
2024. A significant number of customers, as well as members of the traveling public, 
were potentially affected by these safety violations. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Company was cooperative throughout the safety 
investigation, made corrections, and was provided technical assistance with specific 
remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support 
safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these 
factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. 
On March 6, 2008, First Student was penalized $100 in Docket TE-080342 for failing to 
file its 2007 annual report and pay 2008 regulatory fees by the due date. 

On June 16, 2010, the Company was penalized $100 in Docket TE-101063 for using a 
driver without valid medical certification. 

On March 4, 2013, First Student was penalized $200 in Docket TE-130199 for failing to 
file its 2012 annual report and pay 2013 regulatory fees by the due date. 

On June 9, 2015, the Company was penalized $1,000 in Docket TE-151023 for failing to 
file its 2014 annual report and pay 2015 regulatory fees by the due date. 

On June 21, 2016, First Student was penalized $1,000 in Docket TE-160699 for failing to 
file its 2015 annual report and pay 2016 regulatory fees by the due date. 
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On June 20, 2017, First Student was penalized $1,000 in Docket TE-170618 for failing to 
file its 2016 annual report and pay 2017 regulatory fees by the due date. 

On March 28, 2019, First Student was penalized $23,700 in Docket TE-190152 for safety 
violations. 
 
On November 4, 2021, First Student was penalized $44,900 in penalties in Docket TE-
210904.  
 
On April 13, 2022, through Order 03/02, the Commission approved a settlement 
agreement in Dockets TE-190152 and TE-210904, assessing a penalty of $198,000. A 
$120,000 portion of the penalty was suspended for a period of three years, to be waived 
thereafter, provided that First Student complied with the terms of the settlement. On June 
30, 2025, the Commission waived the suspended portion of the penalty following the 
Company’s compliance with the conditions. 
  

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Gregory Newman, Regional VP of 
Operations for First Student, is responsible for the Company’s safety compliance 
program.  

11. The size of the Company. First Student is a large company operating 762 commercial 
motor vehicles and employing 518 commercial drivers. The Company reported 
$6,400,000 in gross revenue in 2024. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 
occurrence of a first-time violation.3 The Commission will generally assess penalties per type of 
violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 
criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 
violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize First 
Student $200 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows: 

• One violation of 49 CFR § 393.28 – Buses – Electrical cable insulation 
chafed/frayed/damaged/burnt exposing wire. The Commission assesses a penalty in the 
amount of $100. 
 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.75(a)(3) – Tire flat and/or audible air leak. The 
Commission assesses a penalty in the amount of $100. 

 
3 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 
Section V. 
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This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 
penalty assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, 
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at 
a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe 
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty 
through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for 
hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a 
hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a 
written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will 
result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application 
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the amount due. 
• Contest the occurrence of the violations. 
• Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are 
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are 
unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities 
and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.   

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 4, 2025. 

/s/ Connor Thompson    
CONNOR THOMPSON 
Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-250501 

 
PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 
I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements. 
 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $200 in payment of 
 the penalty. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violations. I believe that some or all of the alleged violations did not occur 
 for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 
 here, your request will be denied):  

 
      [   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an  
  administrative law judge for a decision 
 
OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 
 
 
[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 
 be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 
 your application here, your request will be denied):      

 
 [   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an  
  administrative law judge for a decision 
 
OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 
 
 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 
 
 
Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [City, State] 
 
_____________________________________  ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020: 
 
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath 
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an 
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a 
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class 
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