
Service Date: August 25, 2025 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG-250478 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100 

West Waste & Recycling, Inc. 
272 La Push Road 
Forks, Washington 98331 
Westwaste94@gmail.com  

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that West 
Waste & Recycling, Inc. (West Waste or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code 
(WAC) 480-70-201, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of 
Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 382 – Controlled Substance and Alcohol Use and Testing. 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 
violation. 

On June 4, 2025, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandra Yeomans completed a follow-
up safety investigation of West Waste and documented the following violation: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.701(b)(1) - Carrier is required to acquire an annual
query from Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) clearinghouse
for all drivers performing duties that require a commercial driver's license. The
Company failed to obtain an annual query for drivers Randy Allen, John Crowl, Brent
Gagnon, and Brien Jaksha.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 
this violation: 

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violation noted is serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that fail to
perform annual queries from the FMCSA clearinghouse put their customers and the
traveling public at risk. This violation presents a serious safety concern.

2. Whether the violation was intentional.

On August 1, 1994, the Commission granted West Waste’s application for authority to
transport waste and received a G-certificate to operate as a solid waste company within
the state of Washington.

On April 4, 2024, Staff completed a routine safety investigation, documenting four
violations of 49 C.F.R § 382.701(b)(1).
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The Company knew or should have known about these requirements. 

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violation. West Waste did not self-report this 
violation. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 
cooperative throughout the safety investigation. 

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violation and remedied the impacts. 
West Waste corrected violations as discovered. 

6. The number of violations. Staff identified five violation types with a total of 12 
individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of West Waste. Of those 
violations, Staff identified one violation type with four individual occurrences that 
warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy.  

7. The number of customers affected. West Waste reported traveling 165,000 miles in 
2024. This violation presents a public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Company incurred repeat violations despite prior 
technical assistance and suspended penalties. Absent a significant commitment to 
prioritize safe operations, the violations are likely to reoccur. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.  
In the past 10 years, the Commission has issued two other assessment penalties against 
West Waste. On May 26, 2015, the Commission assessed a $300 penalty against West 
Waste in Docket TG-150974 for violations of WAC 480-70-071. On June 10, 2015, the 
Company requested a hearing for the assessed penalty. On July 30, 2015, the 
Commission entered Order 01, denying the request for hearing. On August 10, 2015, the 
Company paid the penalty amount in full. 

On June 27, 2017, the Commission assessed a $1,700 penalty against West Waste in 
Docket TG-170714 for violations of WAC 480-70-201. On July 12, 2017, the Company 
paid the penalty amount in full. 

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Brent Gagnon, Owner, and Tanya Dias, 
Operations Manager, are responsible for the Company’s safety compliance program.  

11. The size of the Company. The Company employs five drivers and operates seven 
commercial motor vehicles. The Company reported $2,234,407.13 in gross revenue in 
2024. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 
occurrence of a first-time violation.1 The Commission generally will assess penalties by 

 
1 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 
Section V. 
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violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical 
regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will 
assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration’s “out-of-service” criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, 
including each occurrence of a repeat violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize West Waste 
$100 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.701(b)(1) - Failed to acquire annual queries from the 
FMCSA clearinghouse for four drivers. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for 
this repeat violation. 
 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you 
from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence 
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if 
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any 
request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement 
of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of 
the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the amount due. 
• Contest the occurrence of the violation. 
• Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after 
you receive this Penalty Assessment.2 If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it 
via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may 
send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, 
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

 
2 https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form. 
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If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).3 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.   

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 25, 2025. 

/s/Connor Thompson    
CONNOR THOMPSON 
Director, Administrative Law Division

 
3 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cstacey.brewster%40utc.wa.gov%7C184e666112fd4f0dd84b08db095f25a7%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114076480296165%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=6NM7X7%2Fu9ypm9iMNyWquTWSLjAc1Uu4m1gvSFU9DkaA%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-250478 

 
PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 
I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. 
[  ] Enclose $100 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 
reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 
here, your request will be denied): 

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 
your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 
 
(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a 

materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 
authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's 
mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 
under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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