Service Date: June 24, 2025

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-250475 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$100

San Juan Transit Tours & Charter, LLC P.O. Box 2809 Friday Harbor, WA 98250 SJTransit@rockisland.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes San Juan Transit Tours & Charter, LLC (San Juan Transit or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 393 - Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On June 3, 2025, Commission Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Sandra Yeomans completed a commercial motor vehicle inspection of San Juan Transit after receiving a complaint and documented the following violation:

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.62 - Buses - Required emergency exit not properly marked. San Juan Transit used a commercial motor vehicle with an emergency exit that was not properly marked. The vehicle has since been placed out-of-service. ¹

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for this violation:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violation noted is serious and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that use commercial motor vehicles with deficient emergency exits put their customers and the public at risk. This violation presents significant safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:

-

¹ Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) 5WEXWSKKXFH677586

- Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
- Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violations.

On November 8, 2013, the Commission received the Company's application for transfer of San Juan Transit, Inc.'s auto transportation authority. In the application, Kraig Hansen, owner of San Juan Transit and Tours, LLC, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety rules.

On April 17, 2014, Staff provided technical assistance to Kraig Hansen, including the review of relevant safety regulations.

On May 22, 2014, the Commission received the Company's application requesting to extend its service territory. In the application, Kraig Hansen acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety rules.

San Juan Transit has been subject to five Commission safety investigations, with the most current investigation dated August 28, 2024.

The Company knew or should have known about this requirement.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. San Juan Transit did not self-report this violation.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative during the vehicle inspection.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. San Juan Transit provided Staff with evidence of correction.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified six violations during the inspection of San Juan Transit's vehicles. Staff identified one violation that warrants a penalty in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy. The violation resulted in the vehicle being placed out-of-service.
- 7. **The number of customers affected**. San Juan Transit last reported traveling 39,961 miles for 2024. This safety violation presents a public safety risk.

- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** This is the first documented violation of this type for the Company. Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. On September 19, 2024, the Company was penalized \$4,600 in Docket TE-240662. The penalty was paid in full on December 16, 2024.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Kraig Hansen is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs seven drivers and operates six commercial motor vehicles. The Company reported \$195,926 in gross revenue in 2023.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.² The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Kraig Hansen \$100 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.62 - Buses - Required emergency exit not properly marked. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this out-of-service violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement

² Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violations.
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).4

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective June 24, 2025.

/s/ Connor Thompson
Connor Thompson
Director, Administrative Law Division

_

³ https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

⁴ https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-250475

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1. OR	[] Enclos	of penalty. I admit that the violation(s) occurred. se \$100 in payment of the penalty. that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment	
] 2.	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
		/	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to istrative law judge for a decision.	
	OR		I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.	
] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violation(s), but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):		
		/	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.	
	OR		I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.	

1 .	of perjury under the laws of the I have presented on any attachme	State of Washington that the foregoing ents, is true and correct.
Dated:	[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding they make a materially false statement which they know to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that their statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.