Service Date: May 6, 2025

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-250288 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$700

Managed Moves LLC 13446 NE Whitaker Way Portland, Oregon 97230 welcomehome@managedmoves.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Managed Moves LLC (Managed Moves or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On April 25, 2025, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Tracy Cobile completed a routine safety investigation of Managed Moves and documented the following violations:

• Seven violations of WAC 480-15-555 (1) - Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Company failed to acquire criminal background checks prior to hiring employees Rachel Bower, Matthew Bendure, Luis Jimenez, Bentley Worthy, Tiron Calvert, AJ Russell, and Korina Wood.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for this violation:

- 1. **How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.** The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that fail to conduct criminal background checks prior to hiring employees put their customers and their customers' belongings at risk. These violations present safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violation was intentional. Considerations include:
 - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
 - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On March 20, 2024, Steve Klemroth and Krista Giudici, company owners, attended household goods training provided by Staff and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

On March 27, 2024, the Commission received the Company's application for household goods moving authority. In the application, Lars Jorgensen, Operations Manager, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violation. Managed Moves did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative and responsive during the safety investigation.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violation and remedied the impacts. Managed Moves provided Staff with criminal background checks for each employee.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified 16 violation types with a total of 47 individual occurrences during the provisional safety investigation of Managed Moves. Of those violations, Staff identified one violation type with seven individual occurrences that warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.
- 7. **The number of customers affected**. Managed Moves last reported traveling 530 miles for household goods moves within Washington state in 2024. These safety violations present a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company was cooperative throughout the safety investigation and was provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. The Company has no history of violations with the Commission.
- 10. **The size of the Company.** The Company employed nine drivers over the last 365 days and operates five commercial motor vehicles. The Company reported \$1,200,000.00 in gross revenue from household goods in 2024.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety

¹ Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Managed Moves \$700 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

• Seven violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) – Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of these critical violations, for a total of \$700.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation.
- Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment.² If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).³

² https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

³ https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective May 6, 2025.

/s/ Connor Thompson
CONNOR THOMPSON
Interim Director, Administrative Law
Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-250288

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1. OR	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. [] Enclose \$700 in payment of the penalty. [] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.		
[] 2.	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	/	I ask for a hearing to present evidenstrative law judge for a decision.	nce on the information I provide above to
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	ased solely on the information I provide
[] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evide an administrative law judge for a d	nce on the information I provide above to lecision.
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	ased solely on the information I provide
		enalty of perjury under the laws of thation I have presented on any attachm	ne State of Washington that the foregoing, ments, is true and correct.
Dated:		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
Name o	f Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding they make a materially false statement which they know to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that their statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.