Service Date: April 3, 2025

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-250221
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000
Investigation # 9085
EMAIL SERVICE
UBI: 602-125-299
Kasen Burris Phone: (206) 452-3130
Mark Jensen
Patrick Cahill
William Cabhill
Beacon Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.
8611 S 192™ St
Kent, WA 98031
Kasen@beaconplumbing.net
MarkJ@beaconplumbing.net

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Beacon
Plumbing & Mechanical Inc. (Beacon Plumbing or Company) violated Revised Code of
Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and
causing damage to an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more
than $10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports,
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Beacon Plumbing damaging a
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

1. Alleged Violation:
On January 4, 2025, Beacon Plumbing was excavating at 2207 35" Ave SE, Puyallup,
Washington. While excavating, Beacon Plumbing workers struck and damaged an
underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information
Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on February 15, 2025, indicated that
Beacon Plumbing was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.
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2.

Analysis:

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On
January 4, 2025, Beacon Plumbing was excavating at 2207 35" Ave SE, Puyallup.
According to the Gas First Response report submitted by PSE, Beacon was digging a hole
for a new water service when it hit the gas service line. The report submitted by ELM states
that Beacon Plumbing was excavating based off another contractor’s ticket request. Photos
submitted show faint yellow marks on the ground.

On April 1, 2025, staff spoke with Beacon Plumbing by phone, and it indicated that when
asked about the alleged violation, the tech staff explained they had seen yellow marks on
the ground and reported that another Company had requested locates. Beacon was
reminded that the law requires each excavator to request its own locate ticket before
beginning the excavation.

Staff reviewed the One Call Center ticket database and only found ticket #25003249 that
was called in as an emergency locate request by Beacon Plumbing on the day of the
damage.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount
for the violation:

1.

How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Beacon Plumbing workers,
utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe
injury and/or loss of property.

Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Beacon Plumbing has submitted
206 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Beacon’s knowledge of
requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before
beginning excavation.

Whether the company self-reported the violation.
Beacon Plumbing did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the
violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.

The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning
excavation.

The Company’s previous violations and penalties.

On February 23, 2016, November 29, 2017, January 19, 2017, August 27, 2018, and

May 11, 2022, the Commission mailed Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letters to
Beacon Plumbing. The letters included detailed information about Washington State’s
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Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility locate
requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The
Commission mailed the letters after receiving reports of damage caused by Beacon
Plumbing that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate
underground utilities before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Beacon
Plumbing as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:

1) Company management and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe
Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA)
within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;

2) The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the Commission;
and

3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or
e Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion
of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete
NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90
days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the
Commission; and
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o The Company must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia,
Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).!

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective Click or tap to enter a date..
/s/Connor Thompson

CONNOR THOMPSON
Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

! https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.



https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-250221 PAGE 5

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-250221 Investigation # 9085

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements:

1.

OR

OR

Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:

Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty.

Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment

portal.

Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following
conditions:

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must
complete Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service
of this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the
Commission; and

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.

Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to

an administrative law judge for a decision.
b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to

an administrative law judge for a decision.
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OR b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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