Service Date: February 28, 2025

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-250093 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$2,500 Investigation # 9076

EMAIL SERVICE

Hattenburg Excavating, Inc.
Marc Hattenburg
P.O. Box 248
Mead, WA 99021-0248
Office@hattenburgexcavating.com

UBI: 602-185-976 Phone: (509) 466-3478

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Hattenburg Excavating, Inc. (Hattenburg Excavating or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Hattenburg Excavating damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$2,500 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

1. Alleged Violation:

On September 18, 2024, Hattenburg Excavating was excavating at 6114 West Lookout Mountain Lane, Spokane, Washington. While excavating, Hattenburg Excavating workers struck and damaged an underground Avista Corporation (Avista) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by Avista on October 7, 2024, indicated that Hattenburg Excavating was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

2. Analysis:

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On

January 24, 2025, Avista notified Staff that Hattenburg Excavating was digging a trench from a new home to its gas stub without requesting locates and damaged its ³/₄" gas line. Avista provided the ELM report on February 17, 2025, which confirmed the information in the DIRT report that Hattenburg Excavating was digging without a valid dig ticket and damaged its ³/₄" gas stub.

Staff sent an email requesting information about the damaged gas line to Hattenburg Excavating on January 27, 2025. Staff sent a second email to Hattenburg Excavating on February 11, 2025, again requesting information about the damaged gas line. On February 11, 2025, Staff called Hattenburg Excavating and left a message requesting a return call. To date, Hattenburg Excavation has not responded to Staff's request for contact.

Staff searched the Washington One Call System database and found ticket #24230927 for 6114 West Lookout Mountain Lane, Spokane, WA, which was requested on June 5, 2024, and expired on July 20, 2024.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount for the violation:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Hattenburg Excavating workers, utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury and/or loss of property.

2. Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of Washington State's Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Hattenburg Excavating has submitted 113 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Hattenburg Excavating's knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning excavation.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.

Hattenburg Excavating did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation when Avista filed a DIRT report.

4. The likelihood of recurrence.

Hattenburg Excavating is currently under compliance status for a previous penalty assessment that was issued on May 21, 2024, in Docket DG-240334. One of the compliance requirements is to not have any further violations of the Dig Law for 12 months. This current damage incident is a new Dig Law violation and will result in the imposition of the suspended penalty in the previous case. The likelihood of continued recurrence depends on the Company's actions going forward and the degree of diligence the Company uses to ensure it notifies the one-number locate service every time before beginning excavation.

5. The Company's previous violations and penalties.

• Warning Letter

On July 20, 2017, the Commission mailed two Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letters to Hattenburg Excavating. The letters included detailed information about Washington state's Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letters after receiving reports of damage caused by Hattenburg Excavating on May 4, 2017, and May 24, 2017, respectively, that occurred because the Company failed to submit requests to locate underground utilities before excavating.

• Penalty Assessments

- On May 21, 2024, the Commission issued Hattenburg Excavating a Penalty Assessment of \$2,500 for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) in Docket DG-240334.
- On October 11, 2021, the Commission issued Hattenburg Excavating a Penalty Assessment of \$1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.055(1)(a) in Docket DG-210696.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Hattenburg Excavating as follows:

• \$2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a).

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

<u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$2,500 penalty amount due; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).¹

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective February 28, 2025.

/s/ Connor Thompson CONNOR THOMPSON Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

¹ https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-250093 Investigation # 9076

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[] 1. OR	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred: [] Enclose \$2,500 in payment of the penalty. [] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.		
[] 2.	I describ	the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons be below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your will be denied):	
OR	[] a) [] b)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence an administrative law judge for a decis I ask for a Commission decision based above.	sion.
[] 3.	Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting you application here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence an administrative law judge for a decis	-
OR	[] b)	y g	
		enalty of perjury under the laws of the station I have presented on any attachmen	
Dated: _		[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]
Name o	f Respon	dent (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.