Service Date: February 28, 2025

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-250081 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$200

Angelica Mijares
Established Moving & Storage of Seattle LLC
d/b/a All My Sons Moving & Storage
2400 Old Mill Road
Carrollton, TX 75007
compliance@allmysons.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Established Moving & Storage of Seattle LLC d/b/a All My Sons Moving & Storage (Established Moving or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On February 11, 2025, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandra Yeomans completed a routine safety investigation of Established Moving and documented the following violations:

• Two violations of WAC 480-15-555 - Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Company failed to acquire criminal background checks prior to hiring employees.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that fail to conduct criminal background checks prior to hiring employees putcustomers, customers' belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violations are intentional. Considerations include:
  - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
  - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On April 10, 2023, the Commission received the Company's application for permanent authority to transfer household goods moving authority. The application was approved in Docket TV-230228. In the application, the owner is listed as AMS Group Holdco, LLC. Chris Generale is listed as president and acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

On February 15, 2023, Eric Longhofer received household goods training provided by Staff and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. The Company did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative and responsive during the safety investigation.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Established Moving has provided Staff with evidence of correction.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified six violation types with a total of 10 individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Established Moving. Of those violations, Staff identified one violation type with two individual occurrences that warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.
- 7. **The number of customers affected**. Established Moving last reported traveling 73,471 miles for 2023. These safety violations present a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company was cooperative throughout the safety investigation and was provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The Company had corrected the violations prior to the initiation of the investigation. In light of these factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. On October 5, 2021, Established Moving and Storage of Seattle Inc. was penalized \$36,000 in docket TV-210742 for safety violations of WAC 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees and WAC 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 391 Qualifications of Driver and 49 CFR Part 395 Hours of Service. On November 10, 2021, the Commission entered Order 01, granting mitigation to \$15,000 and suspending a \$10,000 portion of the penalty for two years. On August 2, 2022, Staff completed a follow-up safety investigation as required by Order 01. During the investigation, Staff identified repeat critical violations of WAC 480-15-555, Failing to conduct/retain paperwork containing criminal background checks or hiring an individual with a disqualifying conviction for a household goods carrier. On August 24, 2022, Staff requested that the suspended penalty of \$10,000 be imposed. On April 21, 2023,

Established Moving completed final payment of the penalty. On August 17, 2022, Established Moving was penalized \$1,600 in Docket TV-220592 for safety violations of WAC 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; WAC 480-15-560, Equipment Safety Requirements; 49 C.F.R. Part 390, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, General; 49 C.F.R. Part 396 – Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance; and WAC 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Part 391 – Qualifications of Drivers and 49 C.F.R. Part 395 – Hours of Service of Drivers. The Company completed payment of the penalty April 21, 2023.

Since the transfer of the provisional permit from Established Moving and Storage of Seattle Inc. to Established Moving and Storage of Seattle LLC, the Company has no history of penalties for safety violations.

- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Randal Branscome is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs 10 drivers and operates five commercial motor vehicles. The Company reported \$961,758.90 in gross revenue in 2023.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Established Moving \$200 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

• Two violations of WAC 480-15-555 – Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of these first-time critical violations, for a total of \$200.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

## You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation.
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <a href="https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form">https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</a> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).<sup>3</sup>

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective February 28, 2025.

/s/ Connor Thompson CONNOR THOMPSON Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-250081

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. OR	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred.  [ ] Enclose \$200 in payment of the penalty.  [ ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.			
[ ] 2.	reasons	Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	/	I ask for a hearing to present evidence instrative law judge for a decision.	ce on the information I provide above to	
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision bas above.	ed solely on the information I provide	
[ ] 3.	be reduc	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):		
	[ ] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evident an administrative law judge for a de	ce on the information I provide above to cision.	
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision bas above.	ed solely on the information I provide	
		enalty of perjury under the laws of the ation I have presented on any attachm	e state of Washington that the foregoing, ents, is true and correct.	
Dated:		[month/day/year], at	[City, State]	
Name (	of Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant	

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding they make a materially false statement which they know to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that their statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.