
Service Date: January 22, 2025 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-250019 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

 Investigation # 9061 
EMAIL SERVICE 
 UBI:  603-499-411
Anthony Khan Phone: (425) 353-2078
Neliane Khan 
Netvision, Inc. 
3527 121st Street SW 
Lynnwood, WA 98087-1503 
Anthony.wa.usa@gmail.com  
 

 
YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  

 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Netvision, 
Inc. (Netvision or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by 
failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an underground gas facility.  
 
RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator 
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more 
than $10,000 for each violation. 
 
Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, 
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The 
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Netvision damaging a natural gas 
facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. 
 
The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you 
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. Alleged Violation:  

On October 14, 2024, Netvision was excavating at 3842 Golden Eagle Loop SE, Olympia, 
Washington. While excavating, Netvision workers struck and damaged an underground 
Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool 
(DIRT) report submitted by PSE on November 25, 2024, indicates that Netvision was 
excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.  

 
2. Analysis:  

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On 
December 12, 2024, PSE provided an email with attachments stating that Netvision was 
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digging outside the scope of the locate ticket. PSE also stated that treble charges were 
assessed. The Gas First Response (GFR) report provided by PSE documented that 
Netvision damaged a 2” gas main with a hand saw. The GFR report noted that the 
Company had a valid locate ticket when the damage occurred (ticket #24400390). The 
GFR also pointed out that the main and other utilities had been marked on the street, but 
there was no white paint in the front yard. The GFR went on to document that when 
comparing the wording on the locate ticket to where the damage occurred, Netvision was to 
cross the other side of the street from the NW corner and then run south. So the damage 
was outside the valid excavation area. PSE provided the ELM report which noted the 
incident location as 3822 Golden Eagle Loop SE, Olympia, WA. Staff confirmed with PSE 
via email on January 14, 2025, that the correct address for the damage was 3842 Golden 
Eagle Loop SE, which was documented later in the ELM report. The ELM report 
documented that Netvision damaged the main in front of the residence at 3842 Golden 
Eagle Loop SE on the southwest corner of the intersection. The ELM report confirmed that 
the damage was outside the scope of the original ticket, which indicated the Company 
would cross east (across Golden Eagle) and then south (across Indian Summer Drive) and 
not the southwest corner (Golden Eagle and Indian Summer Drive). The ELM report also 
documented that the white paint was consistent with those directions at the time of the 
locate. The ELM report noted that Netvision added white paint to the site after the original 
locate request. PSE provided the photographs from InfraSource (IFS) emergency locate 
(ticket #24435768) which does not show any white paint in the yard.  

 
Staff searched the Washington One Call System database and confirmed that Netvision 
called in a locate request for 3839 Golden Eagle Loop SE, Lacey, WA, on September 20, 
2024. The description of the area to be marked provided by Netvision and the polygon 
confirms that 3842 Golden Eagle Loop SE was not included as an area to be marked.  

 
Staff sent an email requesting information about the damaged gas line to Netvision on 
December 18, 2024. Staff sent a second email to Netvision on January 6, 2025, again 
requesting information about the damaged gas line. On January 6, 2025, Staff called the 
phone number on file and the front desk provided the cell phone number for Anthony 
Khan. Staff called and left a message requesting a return call. To date, Staff has not 
received any response from Netvision.   
 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violation: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Netvision workers, utility 
technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury 
and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 
The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Netvision has submitted 500 
requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Netvision’s knowledge of 
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requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before 
beginning excavation. 
 

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 
Netvision did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation 
when PSE filed a DIRT report.  

 
4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its 
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning 
excavation.  

 
5.  The Company’s previous Warning Letters 

On October 29, 2019, and December 9, 2021, the Commission mailed Alleged Violation of 
Washington Dig Law letters to Netvision. The letters included detailed information about 
Washington State’s Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for 
submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each 
violation. The Commission mailed the letters after receiving a report of damage caused by 
Netvision on June 24, 2019, and September 7, 2021, respectively, that occurred because the 
Company failed to submit requests to locate underground utilities before excavating. 

 
The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Netvision as 
follows:  

• $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an 
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: 
1) Company management and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe 

Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) 
within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the Commission; 
and 

3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 
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If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete 

NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 
days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the 
Commission; and 

o The Company must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 
Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective January 22, 2025. 
 

/s/ James E. Brown II 
       JAMES E. BROWN II 

Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-250019 Investigation # 9061 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:   
[  ] Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must 
complete Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service 
of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the 
Commission; and  

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 
request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 
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     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 
 
 
Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 
 
 
 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
 
 
 
RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 
 
(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding, he or she 

makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath 
required or authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a 
prosecution under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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