Service Date: January 22, 2025

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-240980 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,500

RBT Moving LLC d/b/a You Move Me Portland 14005 NW 53rd Avenue Vancouver, Washington 98685 ben.hoskins@youmoveme.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes RBT Moving LLC d/b/a You Move Me Portland (RBT Moving or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; and WAC 480-15-560, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 396 - Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On December 18, 2024, Commission Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Tracy Cobile completed a routine safety investigation of RBT Moving and documented the following violations:

- Eleven violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Company failed to acquire criminal background checks prior to hiring employees Kwaku Boateng, Micah Boone, Dominick Camarota, Kyle Clinton, Rayyon Dayton, Zachary Hotchkins, Steven Jones, Stephen McCrary, Colin Meadows, Kevin Romero, and Tyler Zweiger.
- Two violations of WAC 480-15-555(2) Failure to maintain evidence of background check for the term of employment and three years after termination. The Company failed to maintain the required background checks for employees Brian Sheard and Jacob White.
- One violation of WAC 480-15-555(3) Hiring a person who has been convicted of any crime involving theft, burglary, assault, sexual misconduct, identity theft, fraud, false statements, or the manufacture, sale, or distribution of a controlled substance within the past five years. The Company hired employee Thomas Kuhn, who had a disqualifying conviction within the previous five years.

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(a)(1) - Tires - All others, in contact with a part of the vehicle. The Company used a commercial motor vehicle with a tire that contacted the drag link. The vehicle was placed out-of-service. ¹

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that:
 (1) fail to conduct criminal background checks prior to hiring their employees, (2) fail to maintain evidence of background checks, (3) hire employees with disqualifying convictions, and (4) use commercial motor vehicles in need of repair put their customers' belongings and the traveling public at risk. These violations present serious safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
 - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
 - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violations.

On April 1, 2013, the Commission received the Company's application for household goods moving authority. In the application, Ben Hoskins acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

On August 14, 2013, Ben Hoskins attended household goods training provided by Staff and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. RBT Moving did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative throughout most of the safety inspection.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. RBT Moving has provided Staff with evidence of correction for some but not all violations.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified 19 violation types with a total of 49 occurrences during the routine safety investigation of RBT Moving. Of those violations, Staff identified four violation types with 15 individual occurrences that warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.

¹ Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) 5PVNE8JT472S51231

- 7. **The number of customers affected**. RBT Moving last reported traveling 42,000 miles for 2023. These safety violations present a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company was cooperative throughout most of the safety investigation. Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies the Company could use to assess how well its safety management plan operates and how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Safety Director Robert Christensen is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs 18 drivers and operates 10 commercial motor vehicles. The Company reported \$1,125,916 gross revenue in 2023.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.² The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize RBT Moving \$1,500 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

- Eleven violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of these critical violations, for a total of \$1,100.
- Two violations of WAC 480-15-555(2) Failure to maintain evidence of background check for the term of employment and three years after termination. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of these critical-type violations, for a total of \$200.
- One violation of WAC 480-15-555(3) Hiring a person who has been convicted of any crime involving theft, burglary, assault, sexual misconduct, identity theft, fraud, false statements, or the manufacture, sale, or distribution of a controlled substance within the

² Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

past five years. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this critical-type violation.

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(a)(1) - Tires - All others, in contact with a part of the vehicle. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this out-of-service violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation.
- Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).4

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide

³ https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

⁴ https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective January 22, 2025.

/s/ James E. Brown II

JAMES E. BROWN II
Interim Director, Administrative Law
Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-240980

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

	 Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. [] Enclose \$1,500 in payment of the penalty. OR [] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal. 			
OR				
[] 2.	reasons	Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
		I ask for a hearing to present evider inistrative law judge for a decision.	nce on the information I provide above to	
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	ased solely on the information I provide	
[] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):			
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evider an administrative law judge for a d	nce on the information I provide above to ecision.	
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	ased solely on the information I provide	
	-	enalty of perjury under the laws of thation I have presented on any attachn	ne state of Washington that the foregoing, ments, is true and correct.	
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at	[City, State]	
Name o	f Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant	

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding they make a materially false statement which they know to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that their statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.