Service Date: December 5, 2024

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240932
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000
Investigation # 8972
EMAIL SERVICE
UBI: 604-475-963
Anthony Johnson Phone: (253) 334-5386
AlJ Concrete Construction, Inc.
2250 S 251 St
Kent, WA 98032
AJCCINC@yahoo.com

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that AJ Concrete
Construction, Inc. (AJ Concrete or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an
underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more
than $10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports,
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved AJ Concrete damaging a natural
gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

1. Alleged Violation:
On August 1, 2024, AJ Concrete was excavating at 418 SW 175" Place, Normandy Park,
Washington. While excavating, AJ Concrete workers struck and damaged an underground
Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool
(DIRT) report submitted by PSE on September 13, 2024, indicated that AJ Concrete was
excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

2. Analysis:
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On
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August 1, 2024, AJ Concrete was replacing a driveway when it struck a natural gas facility.
The Gas First Response (GFR) report provided by PSE states that the Company was
putting stakes in the ground for concrete forms when it damaged the gas line. The report
stated that the Company explained it did not call for locates because it believed gas lines
would be lower in the ground.

On November 19, 2024, and November 25, 2024, Staff sent emails to the Company
requesting more information about the incident. On November 25, 2024, Staff spoke with
AJ’s Concrete by telephone, and the Company acknowledged receiving the email. The
Company admitted that it caused the damage to the gas line, but it blamed the line for being
too shallow and claims it had a locate ticket. Staff requested the Company submit a copy of
its locate ticket for purposes of this investigation.

Staff reviewed the One Call Center database and did not find a valid locate ticket for the
Company at the address in question. Staff did not receive any further information from
AJ’s Concrete, and the Company did not provide copy of the requested locate ticket.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount
for the violation:

1.

How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to AJ Concrete workers, utility
technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury
and/or loss of property.

Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, AJ Concrete has submitted 2
requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates AJ Concrete’s knowledge of
requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before
beginning excavation.

Whether the company self-reported the violation.
AlJ Concrete did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the
violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.

The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning
excavation.

The Company’s previous Warning Letter.

On May 17, 2017, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law
letter to AJ Concrete. The letter included detailed information about Washington State’s
Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility locate
requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The
Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by AJ Concrete on
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March 9, 2017, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate
underground utilities before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize AJ Concrete
as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:
1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe
Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA)
within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;
2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or
e Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion
of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o AJ Concrete management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete
NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90
days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the
Commission; and

o AJ Concrete must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or

e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
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e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia,
Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).!

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective December 5, 2024.
/s/ James E. Brown Il

JAMES E. BROWN II
Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

! https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240932 Investigation # 8972

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements:

|:| 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:
nclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty.
OR ttest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment
al.

|:| 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following
conditions:

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must attend
Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of this
Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the
Commission; and

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.

|:| 3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

D a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR |:| b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

|:| 4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

|:| a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
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OR |:| b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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