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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
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 UBI:  602-768-575
Matthew Moreland Phone: (425) 497-0162
Carlen Moreland 
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P.O. Box 715 
Redmond, WA 98073-0715 
cmoreland@capstoneemail.com  
 

 
YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  

 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Capstone 
Solutions, Inc. (Capstone Solutions or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 
19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an 
underground gas facility.  
 
RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator 
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more 
than $10,000 for each violation. 
 
Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, 
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The 
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Capstone Solutions damaging a 
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. 
 
The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you 
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. Alleged Violation:  

On August 15, 2024, Capstone Solutions was excavating at 14710 168th Avenue Northeast, 
Woodinville, Washington. While excavating, Capstone Solutions workers struck and 
damaged an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage 
Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on September 26, 2024, 
indicated that Capstone Solutions was excavating without a valid request to locate 
underground utilities.  
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2. Analysis:  
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On 
October 28, 2024, PSE emailed the Gas First Responder (GFR) report and ELM report to 
Staff. The GFR report confirmed that Capstone Solutions was digging on a private locate 
ticket installing telecommunication conduit on August 15, 2024, when it damaged a 5/8” 
gas service line at 14710 168th Ave Northeast, Woodinville, WA. The GFR report noted 
that Capstone Solutions was unaware it needed to call 811 with private locates. The GFR 
report did not identify the locate ticket number. The ELM report confirmed the information 
in the DIRT and GFR report and documented that Capstone Solutions admitted to the 
damage, and that the Company had not submitted a locate request.  
 
On December 11, 2024, Capstone Solutions communicated with Staff and admitted the 
violation. Capstone Solutions stated that at the time of the incident on August 15, 2024, 
PSE expeditiously repaired the line. Capstone Solutions documented that the team on site 
failed to have a valid locate ticket when they began digging at 14710 168th Avenue 
Northeast, Woodinville, WA, and caused damage to the gas line. The Company explained 
that they recognize and acknowledge that the incident was a serious safety violation that 
could have been avoided had 811 been notified. Capstone Solution stated that due to 
scheduling conflicts, the team assigned to the job site was an experienced tower crew 
instead of the typical civil crew that attends to digging tasks. The Company noted that the 
tower crew was less familiar with the requirements for obtaining locates. Capstone 
Solutions stated that the tower team had observed that a private company had marked the 
site, and the tower crew thought that was sufficient to establish that all underground 
facilities had been located and marked. The Company shared that following the incident, it 
met with the tower crew and gave them clear instructions on the proper steps that should 
have been taken. Capstone Solutions stated that the Company called in a locate ticket 
before the tower crew began digging again to finish the worksite.  
 
Staff searched the Washington One Call System database and found locate ticket 
#24348469 for Capstone Solutions for 14710 168th Ave Northeast, Cottage Lake, WA, 
which was requested on August 19, 2024, after the damage date.  
 
The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty 
amount for the violation: 

 
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Capstone Solutions workers, 
utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe 
injury and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 
The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Capstone Solutions has submitted 
11 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Capstone Solutions’ 
knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service 
before beginning excavation. 
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3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 

Capstone Solutions did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the 
violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.  

 
4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its 
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning 
excavation.  

 
5.  The Company’s previous Warning Letter.  

On June 2, 2021, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law 
letter to Capstone Solutions. The letter included detailed information about Washington 
State’s Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility 
locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The 
Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by Capstone 
Solutions on March 30, 2021, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a 
request to locate underground utilities before excavating. 

 
 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Capstone 
Solutions as follows:  

• $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an 
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: 
1) Capstone Solutions supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete 

Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association 
(NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and 
3) Capstone Solutions must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 

months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
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mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o Capstone Solutions management and field crew responsible for excavation must 

complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) 
within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and 

o Capstone Solutions must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 
12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 
Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective December 18, 2024. 
 

/s/ James E. Brown II 
       JAMES E. BROWN II 

Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240921 Investigation # 8973 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:   
[  ] Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o Capstone Solutions management and field crew responsible for excavation 
must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of 
service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and  

o Capstone Solutions must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 
within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 
request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 
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     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 _____________________________________ ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print Signature of Applicant 

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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